Certs VS Degree?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My take on it, if you are asking about it because you are going to enter the work force as opposed to working for yourself. The degree will get you the first interview, the certs will get you the 2nd with the department head (or whomever)

Book smarts are wayyy different then real intellect. There's people who did really good at school and went to college and graduated that are working at mcdonalds and can't even figure out how to work thier new droid or cook or fix simple things around thier house. Those are the people who need college to even teach them anything. They have no capacity to learn on thier own. I've learned way more about computers on my own then I did at any classes I took. I learned three different router OSes in just 3 months in contrast to most people needing years to learn what I did. Just about everything I know is self taught. And look ma! No debt! :p

**** I've learned Revvit architecture studio in just 2 weeks and made my first buildings (one was a 4BR 2 BA complex futuristic house and the other was a 20 story office building that was complex in design) I made 20 total in 3 months when it takes most people at least a year to make thier first 5 buildings!!!!

It's always good to keep learning new things but just because you learned Revvit doesn't mean you can go and design someone a house now. There are many structural requirements, building codes, etc that you won't know without being educated on them. After all there is a reason Architects spend 5 years in school and don't just start designing houses for people out of the blue.