Which Certification to get first?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MTFBWY

Solid State Member
Title says it all, which certification should I go for first?
I've heard A+, but I've also heard other things.

Doesn't matter the certification, all I am really trying to do is get my foot in the door at any job. (Jobless)
I am willing to take some courses, so I am trying to figure out where to start, and whats the best option.
I have a pretty good knowledge on computers and the hardware, though I have no programming experience or any other type of technical job experience.

If you help me figure this out, I'll go ahead and keep a log of my daily learning at the course, and let you know how it goes.

Any questions, let me know!

Since you don't have job experience in IT I would definately say the A+. Go purchase a book by Mike Meyers. The book should be comprehensive and will cover all aspects of the A+ (there are two exams you have to take, one is the 'core essentials' and the other you choose from two other exams, a depot technician and the other is remote technician). Check there website out. A+ Certification, CompTIA A+ Certifications

I will say just make sure when purchasing and studying material that you are getting the 600 level exam. They come out with one every three years or so, so there are still 300 level exams out there which is the old exam published in 2003.

Next I would get the Net+ exam, but they JUST came out with a new exam this february (2009). So the earliest publication that I can find wont' be out until June or so. So IMO you should wait on that one. Take the A+ first, then do the Net+ later.