IT Career Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lone Wolf

Daemon Poster
Ever since i got laid off from my sales job, I've been getting more and more interested in a career in the IT field.

I've always been good w/ computers i.e. grasp concepts quickly, not afraid to try and experiment on my own, and enjoy learning new things. Heck just 4 years ago, I didn't even know what a dual-boot was until i read about it on the net and starting experimenting on my own PC. While I love working on my PC, there's a limit.... it's sort of gotten really stale and boring and would llove to learn some vb code, or something to do w/ networking...etc.

The problem is that i have a business degree and most employers & headhunters don't give a rats a*s about my resume. In this job market where there's a glutton of IT workers to choose from, it's an employer's market and i'm not a contender yet.

So I decided to get my A+ certification to atleast get some credibility and get my foot in the door somewhere. I've passed the OS part; now i have to pass the Core. Although, a help desk position would be OK to start with, I couldn't imagine doing that forever.

I know there's a lot of experienced IT workers here who have expertise in various areas. My problem is that I have a business/sales background and would like to get into IT but don't know what field.

For an analytical person who likes problem solving, is there any one particular field of IT that would be suited for me? For example, I don't know anything about being a network administrator. Can someone tell me the primary duties and skills that involves on a daily basis? I really do NOT enjoy jobs that are monotonous; i enjoy variety and challenges as opposed to the 'daily routine' stuff.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Ken Masters said:
Perhaps you might think about opening a computer sales shop?