animation/game designer fields?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jordo_99

Daemon Poster
hi i'm a sophomore in college and i've been considering going into the animation/game design field of work. i've spent probably around 100-150 hours w/ 3dsMax programs (i've got max 7 now) and i just wanted to know what schools out there would be good to attend.

i don't have tons of money or anything and i'll transfer at semester to attend a school if i decide for sure i wanna go that route for a job. I was told by my animation professor to check out Ringley and a few other really good schools and try and get in but they cost upwards of $40,000 a year and there's no way i can offord that. i wanna know of good schools that will only be in the 10,000-20,000 range. any suggestions?

*i was told that people who hire for animation/game design look for prestigious schools on ur resume and that it's important to go to a good school. I just don't have the money to go.*

if you cant afford the school do ROTC and they will pay for it
you just have to spend 4 years as an officer on active duty after that

StylinGolfShoes said:
if you cant afford the school do ROTC and they will pay for it
you just have to spend 4 years as an officer on active duty after that

ROTC is that like army national guards or something...cuz i'm not too into warfare and killing people...i'll do some research on it.

*ok yeah i just looked it up. only way i'd ever consider doing that is if i were to get a desk job or something not out fighting in the field...i know i'm a coward...lol*

my bro is in guards and they told him he'd only have a 15% chance of going off to war...2 months after bootcamp he was in Iraq. Although he's back and safe again after 2 1/2 years of service i doubt i'd take my chances especially w/ all the fighting the USA does.

i'm not willing to risk my life for $50,000 when i don't think i'd come back alive.

you get 180,000 in the ROTC program