5 Amazing Certificates

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Re: Re: Re: 5 Amazing Certificates

raross said:
The only way to get "real" good experience is to have a 4 year degree and the only way to get into IT is to have experience. So therefore I can say in order to get into IT you need a 4 year degree. Most employers make sure you have both or for entry level jobs just a 4 year degree, however some just ask for experience, but again this goes back to my argument of having experience means having a degree. So you decide. [/B]

My companies net admin and I were hired straight out of a vocational high school. We worked as apprentices for so many hours and then were hired Full Time. My coworker chose to get certified MCSE 2k & MCDBA 2k instead of going to college. After getting certified he was promoted to network and db admin and was put on a salary.

I went to college before studying for certs. I completed a associates degree in comp network engineering. I got a 50 dollar check for it. Im currently studying for MCSE 2k3 & MCDBA 2k. After I get certifed, i'll prolly be put on a salary with a big big raise. Then, its off to complete a four year degree.

I think in our situation over here, it was better to get certified. But that's really a case by case basis thing. Our company promotes certs, while another may promote degrees.

How i got my job was hard work and a little bit of luck. I built many implementations at school, showed enthusiasm, the school recognized this and got me an interview.

While going to college, I saw a couple of good opportunities. An internship for a corporate hub. I wouldnt be doing IT stuff but i would be able to make contacts. Also, the college hired some support techs while i attended their school. I seen the ad posted at the school and then noticed them filter in the computer rooms.