Windows Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2009, 06:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 0
Default Windows Vista

I am designing a new laptop and what should I choose Window vista 32bit or 64bit and why.
__________________

mrjlubtx is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Windows Vista

Welcome to the forums. If the system has more than 4GB memory you will require a 64 bit OS to address all of it.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 07:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 0
Default Re: Windows Vista

It has 4gb of ram.

Is 32bit or 64bit any more reliable than the other. I am really nervous about buying vista , I have heard so many nightmare stories about vista and now that I am being forced to by it and I dont know anything about it I dont know what to do
mrjlubtx is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 07:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Windows Vista

welcome

I suggest you use 64 bit

most programs now a days are compatible with 64bit operating software

but should a problem occur with your 64 bit vista, you may obtain 32 bit version from Microsoft for a small fee ($10 bucks, I think)

one is not more reliable than the other.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 09:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Windows Vista

Since Service Pack 1, Vista has become a truly good operating system. With Service Pack 2 on the horizon, it will be even better. As long as your CPU is a 64-bit CPU, you will be good to go with 64*bit Vista.

Oh, and welcome to Tech-Forums.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 11:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista

__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
prep for HijackThis Log posting paulmars HijackThis Logs (finished) 38 02-03-2009 06:51 PM
BSOD problems yet again. IBM/PS1 Microsoft Windows and Software 36 08-25-2008 07:54 PM
Windows Vista SP1 Download Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 42 03-22-2008 04:23 AM
Home Edition Troubles ChemicalMonkey Microsoft Windows and Software 34 01-20-2008 09:26 PM
Windows Vista SP1 will annoy Pirates Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-04-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.