widi capabilities - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2013, 10:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Port macquarie
Posts: 0
Default widi capabilities

I'm looking at updating my monitor and am curious about wireless display. I'm looking at the samsung t27b750 or the s27a950d. Ive only seen the feature demonstrated with laptops and want to know if I can sync it with my tower and continue using it without a physical connection. ie DVI cord. I like the concept of moving my monitor to a different room in my house while still working through my tower.
__________________

isponge13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 08:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: widi capabilities

Welcome. WiDi is done through the integrated graphics of a compatible intel processor and intel wireless adapter.
Intel® Wireless Display (Intel® WiDi) — System requirements for Intel® WiDi
This is the list of requirements for WiDi.

Even if you did have an ivy-bridge cpu, widi is very finnicky about reception. The chances of you being able to stream between rooms is unlikely. My widi would get interrupted just from a person walking in front of the path between the laptop and the adapter
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.