Osiyo - Hello - Hi - Hola - Bon Jour

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlSwilling

Beta member
I'm probably an old fogy compared to the rest of you. I have been a writer, poet, and gadgetholic since I've known how to write; and I've been into computers ever since the Commodore 64 and Amiga days, back when hard drive size was measured in Kilobytes, floppy disks were 5-1/4" sheets of magnetic recording media, and virtually no one knew what a "CPU" was.

My age is somewhere between the age of the planet and dirt. I witnessed the first space flight, the first manned orbit of the earth, the first man on the moon; the transition from rotary dial to push-button phones; the advent of "mobile phones," when mobile phones was a cumbersome apparatus that was hard wired into a vehicle, with an antenna mounted to the trunk or roof; the invention of Pop Tarts and pop tops for soda cans and canned foods; the first use of plastic soda bottles; and the switch from money backed by silver and gold (all the paper money had "Silver Certificate" or "Gold Certificate" printed on it) instead of the government's word alone. I witnessed the invention of color TV, the end of radio programs like "Fibber McGhee and Molly", "The Lone Ranger", and "The Shadow", and saw those programs come to life on the TV or theater screen. I remember George Burns and Gracie Allen and their TV show, "Burns and Allen" and their sponsor, Carnation Evaporated Milk. I remember when everyone began switching from coal and wood heat to electric and gas, then to central heating and air conditioning.

I was born at the end of a war and have witnessed or participated in several since then. I served in the United States Marine Corps' Air Wing during the Vietnam War as a chopper mechanic.