Network Engineer here - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2006, 06:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Default Network Engineer here

Hi,

My name is Vanja and i work for Charter Communications for their CB Engineering team.
Just wanted to say hi.
I also run IT website (see signature)
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.teknoc.com\"><b>TEKNOC</b></a>
Your source for Networking-Computers-Free ebooks-Forum and more
<a href=\"http://www.crankypot.com\"><b>crankypot.com</b></a>
vanja is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Welcome to the forums!
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

welcome, hey got a question, does charter not allow customers to make FTP servers? what about HTTP servers, me and my buddy have no problems setting up HTTP servers but until about 3 weeks ago we had an FTP working but all of a sudden it didnt work. tried every configuration in the IIS server, would work form internal network but not external, had it setup the same way we did when it worked and no equipment changed, it has to be charter doing something so just wondering...
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 01:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Default

We don't actually allow ftp or any kind of servers on residential accounts. You'll have to go to SBI or CBN account for that.
Of course lot of people are doing it anyway (like with any ISP). If we see lot of high bandwith utilization coming of residential nodes, we might block certain inbound ports.
Depending on which market you're in. Our engineering NOC covers pretty much all of south east, north east, mid america and saint louis metro area.
Sorry about blocking but its really not up to engineers but corporate to decide.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.teknoc.com\"><b>TEKNOC</b></a>
Your source for Networking-Computers-Free ebooks-Forum and more
<a href=\"http://www.crankypot.com\"><b>crankypot.com</b></a>
vanja is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 01:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Hmmmm... Well, vanja, it seems that you're already getting cornered with questions... But that's a good thing. We need more people on the inside to give us good info and to answer the questions we need answered.

Welcome to TF, by the way.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 01:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Default

Thanks on the welcome.

I'll try to answer anything that i am allowed to answer.
Otherwise i will just have to kill you. Or myself.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.teknoc.com\"><b>TEKNOC</b></a>
Your source for Networking-Computers-Free ebooks-Forum and more
<a href=\"http://www.crankypot.com\"><b>crankypot.com</b></a>
vanja is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 09:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

hey thanks for the reply tho, we were actually thinking about killing it anyway as it was an older server trying to run server 2003 and it wasn't working with the configuration i wanted it to and im getting tired of rebuilding it with new configs.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 07:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

Welcome to TF
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 01:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Welcome to the Forums
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 01:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Welcome.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

« new | What's up? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.