Linksys Router Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2015, 01:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Zekester2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 289
Send a message via Skype™ to Zekester2015
Exclamation Linksys Router Help!

Hi, I would like to start by saying that, I have this old Linksys router, I don't use it anymore, but I wanted to put custom firmware on it. Something went wrong, while upgrading the firmware, therefore, bricking my router....
Here is a list of relevant details that might be useful to solving the problem.

__________________________________________________ _______________________
-Router Model Number "WRT54G" (Version 6)
-I tried a ping test (VIA Command Prompt, a tool included in most Windows packages) and got a live response, so the router is still functioning...
-I cannot use JTAG, as my laptop doesn't have a parallel port on it..
-A website that lists information on this router, listed a brick code, that can be seen on the Power LED and DMZ LED flicker patterns. This code tells you why it cannot boot. (list at the bottom, taken from DD-WRT)
My router indicates a defective bootloader.

__________________________________________________ ___________________________
Another thing is, the router has a "management mode" on it, which is supposed to allow you to upload a (.bin) file for the firmware. I was able to access it, but had no luck restoring the firmware...

For those who don't know, JTAG is a connection on the router, ONLY accessible by accessing the motherboard. that connects to a parallel cable to a PC, the manufacturers used this to load the first firmware to the flash memory chip, my PC doesn't have this port, so I would hope that JTAG is not the only option for fixing this...
I do not know much about JTAG, feel free to search it...

How could I be able to debrick my router? Any ideas?
See ya! -Zeke

Here is the list :



"1 . The power LED flashes very fast. If it keeps on flashing longer than 2 minutes, without having lit up the other LED's, then a defective bootloader is present. However, if you can ping 192.168.1.1 (your router IP) you can try the TFTP recovery, otherwise you may need to open the router and use the JTAG recovery method below.
2. The power LED flashes very fast and after some seconds the DMZ LED lights up for approximately 5 seconds. In this case the Bootloader is intact and only the kernel (firmware) is defective. In this case you could possibly still recover with an ethernet cable if you reflash the firmware via TFTP (see TFTP below).
. The power LED flashes very fast and after about 20 seconds it lights permanently, but the DMZ LED did not light up. In this case Bootloader and Kernel (firmware) are intact, only a wrong configuration from locked up the router. This can happen if a wrong or corrupt value exists in the NVRAM. Here simply clearing the NVRAM should solve the problem." - DD-WRT
__________________

Zekester2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 01:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Zekester2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 289
Send a message via Skype™ to Zekester2015
Default Re: Linksys Router Help!

UPDATE : I figured out I made an error while configuring my router settings on my Windows PC, the default gateway was 192.168.1.1, the IP address was 192.168.1.1, when I changed the IP to 192.168.1.10, I was able to use TFTP to upgrade it, via DD-WRT's micro generic build compatible with my router...
__________________

Zekester2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 09:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Linksys Router Help!

Glad to hear you were able to get it running. Thanks for posting your solution, as well!
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 01:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Linksys Router Help!

WELCOME TO TF! Enjoy your stay lol
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2015, 10:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Zekester2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 289
Send a message via Skype™ to Zekester2015
Default Re: Linksys Router Help!

I will! This is a nice forum...
Zekester2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brick, firmware, jtag, linksys, router

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LinkSys Router...setup can't detect that the router is plugged in homeslicezero Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 09-03-2007 09:40 PM
Linksys router acting weird... no wireless and then it stops working.. help! LightingBird Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 01-02-2007 03:55 PM
Linksys router help PSUfan61 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 08-15-2006 04:33 PM
Help with Linksys Router WRT54G fb132 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 05-21-2006 09:38 PM
Linksys router help PoisonPorkchop Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 11 08-24-2005 05:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.