I have a headache :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > New Member Introductions
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2014, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 0
Default I have a headache :(

Hi my name is Jonathan, and I'm trying to find someone who can help me, but not having any luck.

Not sure how to describe it, but I have a digital audio coaxial converter which converts it to L and R spdif (or whatever it's called) so I can use my computer speakers with my TV.

I just moved into a new house and when I reconnected everything the converter emits an extremely high pitched squeal that gives me a headache. It's like the mosquito sound that teenagers use (even though I'm 32 and I hear it so it's a little lower frequency than that).

I've tried unplugging and replugging everything and it doesn't help. If I unplug the coaxial from the converter the sound gets much much lower pitched. The sound only goes away when I unplug the power from it.

I should note the squeal is coming from the converter itself and not the speakers.

Any idea what the problem could be and/or what I can do to fix it??

hoodleehoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 11:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
carnageX's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,150
Default Re: I have a headache :(

Sounds like it's either getting bad (dirty) power or it's going out. You could try getting a power filter to see it it helps or not. Tried a different outlet as well?

Sent from my HTC One

Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 11:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 0
Default Re: I have a headache :(

What's a power filter? I'm not too savvy about such things! lol
hoodleehoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 12:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Monroe, WA
Posts: 5
Default Re: I have a headache :(

A power filter is like a small surge protector. You can buy them online, usually meant for fish tanks but it could work.
InfoTechNetworking is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
parental controls headache-help MrsMastrchief Microsoft XBox 6 02-03-2005 06:05 PM
What a headache. bobojuice Off Topic Discussion 19 10-09-2004 07:55 PM
Backgrounds giving headache!!! Skier4Life Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-16-2004 12:22 PM
Graphic card headache sheen Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 01-12-2004 06:41 AM
Linux is Giving me a headache! mcgl0re1 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 01-17-2003 02:11 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.