Hey guys, joe here, new member!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2007, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Hey guys, joe here, new member!!

Hey everyone! My name is Joe and I'm 16.I just joined the forum today, i was lurking the last two days and decided this seems like a great place to ask those really confusing tech questions.

I'm going to be buying a new computer in the summer/early autumn next year so i can finally play these new RTS games to their potential. Since i want to try building my own then you people will be sick of me asking the most idiotic questions, such as:

What the **** is thermal paste, what do i put it on?
Overclocking, it scares me, yet it sounds simply, WHAT DO I DO!?!?!
Heatsink? Extra fans, how to a keep stuff cool?

and MANY MANY MORE!!

Supreme Commander and FA expansion
C&C3 and it's expansion when it comes out
Universe at War: Earth Assault

also one reason i joined today was to see if anyone would help me with pressing problems with a LCD HDTV, if you can please drop by the xbox 360 gaming sub forum( sorry if it isn't were my query belongs! I'm new!) and save me from pulling my hair out in confusion.

Anyway you guys all sound very friendly and extremely knowledgeable from what I've seen in the gaming computer forum, all your shiny computers make me jealous!
__________________

Joeyboy is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 06:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Hey guys, joe here, new member!!

Welcome to T.F.!!!
We will help you as much as we can, so no worries.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 06:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Hey guys, joe here, new member!!

Welcome to TF!

Where in the UK are you from?
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 06:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Hey guys, joe here, new member!!

sorry mate not in liverpool, east midlands.

Oh and one question, my query on a LCD TV, i put it in xbox 360 forum because i want to know what tv supports new xbox360 games, but is there part of this forum that relates to tvs more?

Maybe monitors since LCD tvs could be monitors
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 07:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Hey guys, joe here, new member!!

Sadly that area you posted it in would possibly be the best, but give me a idea of your budget an I might be able to recommend something.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 07:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Hey guys, joe here, new member!!

im looking for 22-26"

hopefully below 300. I've seen some pretty good stuff on buy it now offers on ebay and some other online retailers. A 23" Lg on ebay is like 240.
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 08:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Hey guys, joe here, new member!!

Try a Orion 28" the pannels are made by LG it has built in free view an can be used as a PC monitor if needed. there in the £250 - £300 pound range there is some older models knocking around without the free view for around £199 that are a steal.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 08:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Hey guys, joe here, new member!!

can you possibly give me a link to one? Ive googled it and not found anything smaller then 32" or bigger then 19"...

Thanks for the help though! I haven't heard of Orion, they ok quality?
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 08:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Hey guys, joe here, new member!!

Heh heh, busy already...

Welcome aboard Tech-Forums.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 08:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Hey guys, joe here, new member!!

hmm i dont want to repeat my xbox360 post here really but...

When choosing HD LCD TVs, most say 50hz or don't mention it at all.

The thing is that new xbox360 games need pal-60 to work, which is 60hz i assume. My current tv only supports 50hz however whe set to pal-60 it manages it but with white lines near the top of the screen, not terrible but a little annoying.

Does that mean i need it to say 60hz or are HD LCD Tvs better at handling it?

also i found this on ebay, any idea if it's good for my 360?

ACOUSTIC SOLUTIONS LCD26805HD 26" LCD HD READY TV on eBay, also, Televisions, Consumer Electronics (end time 06-Dec-07 12:02:40 GMT)
__________________

Joeyboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hey guys a question. KCRMYZ Technology Careers and Education 23 02-08-2008 10:46 PM
Hey Guys I need a little help Phase-Six Off Topic Discussion 7 11-19-2007 07:33 PM
Hey Guys!! kevza New Member Introductions 8 09-29-2007 02:13 AM
Hey guys - new here Andi666 New Member Introductions 6 09-18-2007 04:58 AM
Hey guys just arrived at the dorm, quick question. Networking Issues pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-15-2007 02:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.