Hey all!

The Technician

Solid State Member
Hey everyone! My name is Michael, my friends call me Mike.

First of all, I'm very glad to be here. The amount of info shared here is incredible. So thank you all for contributing.

Secondly, I am here because I wish to enter the IT field as a hardware technician. I am currently self-studying for the A+ certification, and could use all the help I can get. I will post more about that in the appropriate forum, but for now, greetings and thanks for welcoming me into the community!

Mike

Glad to have you, Mike! I'm a hardware tech myself, and am still fairly new to it. Perhaps we can learn from each other. Looking forward to your input!

Hiya! Glad to have you here! Studying for A+ is a good start. I'll tell you what I just posted elsewhere... buy a sandbox computer to use to tear to pieces and put together again. I mean that for the hardware as well as the software side. Tear into the Windows registry and services etc and learn as much as you can. Infect the computer with malware on purpose and then try to clean it off. Anything you can think. It will help you get a hands on experience.

Glad to have you, Mike! I'm a hardware tech myself, and am still fairly new to it. Perhaps we can learn from each other. Looking forward to your input!

Thanks, sir! How did you go about getting into the field?

Hiya! Glad to have you here! Studying for A+ is a good start. I'll tell you what I just posted elsewhere... buy a sandbox computer to use to tear to pieces and put together again. I mean that for the hardware as well as the software side. Tear into the Windows registry and services etc and learn as much as you can. Infect the computer with malware on purpose and then try to clean it off. Anything you can think. It will help you get a hands on experience.

Yes, I plan on doing precisely that!

Thanks, sir! How did you go about getting into the field?