Hello - Advice For Interview?

subt33

Beta member
Hello everyone,

Just wanted to stop by the new member forum and say hello. I've been a passionate tech hobbyist since I built my first PC back in the late 90's (I remember thinking "Damn 512mb of ram, that's so much"). I've never really paid my bills with it though. Over the last couple of years, I earned my A+, net+, and just recently MCSA for Win8. I've now been applying for entry level IT jobs and have had a couple of interviews. My next is an interview for a help desk position, with a very exciting company, and also a great promotional track. Thanks for any advice and thanks for the forum!

Andrew

Hello and welcome!

Don't know how general these tips may be but... these were given to me by my career services instructor who teaches courses regarding job interviews. It was a mandatory class.

1. Always bring a folder of some sort with a few extra copies of an updated resume along with a few pens.

2. Always take notes during the interview process, especially useful for a tip further down.

3. It's alright to do hand gestures, but try to keep it from going wild or over use. Same goes for knee jerking or leg twitching.

4. At the end of the interview when asked if there is ANY questions... ALWAYS ASK SOMETHING. This shows you are interested in the company by asking. If you have trouble thinking of a question ahead of time, the notes you have taken throughout the interview could prove useful in forming a question.

If not, maybe ask about the work environment and the atmosphere but ask something.

5. Without being too pushy, try to squeeze in a way to get permission to call back and ask about the job offer a certain amount of time later (like a week later).