Hello - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2008, 08:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Default Hello

Hello everyone!

I am pretty new to the forum so I guess I have to come clean and admit that I am a bit of a novice on the computer.
I couldn't begin to build my own. However, I have been popping in here every so often and find the forum very informative.

I joined the forum because I saw that there are some pretty savvy people out there who are willing to help someone find their way around.

I recently destroyed my Dell that was only three years old (to embarrassed to tell you how I did it) Needless to say I'm a bit more cautious now! I managed to save my old hard drive and have hooked it up as an external. My problem is that it is a huge HD with windows XP on it (I am now running Vista home basic). I need to know how to reformat it to be used strictly for storage and how do I partition it?

Sorry for sounding so dumb.:laughing:
I appreciate any help you may offer.
__________________

Sandi is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 08:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Hello

Hi and welcome to TF.

Partition magic or the HP external media utility (at least i think its called that) will help you format the old drive.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 08:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Hello

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Chadwick View Post
Hi and welcome to tech forums.

Partition magic or the HP external media utility (at least i think its called that) will help you format the old drive.
Thanks Chris.

Are they dificult to use? I mean, do I have to actually "Know" the lingo?
Sandi is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 08:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Hello

No both are very easy to use GUI based (Graphical user interface) a few clicks and you will be ready to go, it's far easier than the command line (Dos screen) way of doing it.

If you run into problems post in the relivent section and we will do our best to help.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 09:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Hello

Actually, you should be able to format it in Windows. Go into My Computer, right-click the drive, and choose format (that's how XP does it). Vista is supposed to have some built-in partitioning tools... ask in the Windows forum.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 09:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Hello

yeah I was about to say, you could use the control panel and administrative tools, but I dont know if it is the same for vista...
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 03:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Hello

Thanx for the warm welcome everybody!

Before I dare to try this, I have one more question.

The HD is 40GB Ultra ATA/100 (7200RPM) according to the invoice.
When I took it to a computer nerd to try to recover what I had lost, he told me it is an IDE. Is this a contradiction? I bought a IDE external box and it seems to be working fine. Am I talking apple and oranges here?

Anyway, back to the project at hand.
I see that Vista will format the drive, however I'm not sure how to go about partitioning it. Should I partition it into four equal parts or ....?
Any feedback you can give me is much appreciated.
Sandi is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 04:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Hello

ATA = IDE = PATA = EIDE

A little confusing, but they are all the same thing.

40 gig is not a whole lot of room. I won't use less than that for Windows, and that is with installing most of my other programs on a different partition along with my files. I wouldn't go smaller than 20/20, if I even partitioned it at all.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 04:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Hello

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
ATA = IDE = PATA = EIDE

A little confusing, but they are all the same thing.

40 gig is not a whole lot of room. I won't use less than that for Windows, and that is with installing most of my other programs on a different partition along with my files. I wouldn't go smaller than 20/20, if I even partitioned it at all.
Thanks!

Before I go any further, I have been told that I cannot run the XP OS (that is still installed on it) if I am using the Vista OS on my present system.

This is the main reason for re-formating in the first place. Otherwise, I would continue to use it as is and just keep things stored in pics or documents that I wouldn't want to lose in case the main OS crashes.
Sandi is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 04:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Hello

Hey there welcome to TF
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

« Hello! | Hi! »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.