Career Path in a Cloud world

IDNeon

Solid State Member
OK I've asked a bunch of questions, I am 99% sure I will go with the career college associates in IT and work toward getting a CCNA and/or MSCE certs.

Besides being interested in technology, liking tinkering with hardware, I am also basing my decision on this supposition that in a cloudtech world network administrators and security will be the most in demand jobs.

I'd love to hear discussion on this matter.

PS.

I'd like to work at a Data center ideally, my area has several and Apple is doubling the size of their data center here and at least 1 or 2 more moving in.

Any advice how to get in there?

Last edited:
Go for it! I work in IT systems and infrastructure support for SpaceX (networking: fiber and ethernet running, switch configs, etc, systems support: Linux systems mostly, some Windows servers) and let me tell you the demand is there. You'll pretty much be able to do whatever you want. The only caveat with SpaceX is they usually require a bachelors or better.

Sounds like you have a solid plan. I think MCSE or CCCNA jobs are always going to be in demand. In our world today there is always going to be a need for networking and the infrastructure to run applications.

Things are moving to the cloud - but what a lot of people don't realize is that the 'cloud' is running in the same darn datacenter, just under someone elses roof. There is also a cost associated with it. You will see a lot of mid to large sized companies moving to hosted solutions, but the cost as it stands right now is too high for smaller companies or companies in industries that cannot afford large hosting bills.