Use laptop as second screen? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software > Tips, Tricks & Tutorials
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2015, 09:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 99
Default Use laptop as second screen?

Hi guys I have a question I've actually been wondering fir some time now. I want to free up my Livingroom TV so I don't bother my fiancee and daughter. I want to put my ps4 on my l shipped desk and have it out of the way. Until I find a good monitor I like for gaming both on my ps4 and computer (4k monitor), I was curious if I could somehow use my laptops screen for those moments I want to play my Ps4?? Is there some kind of adaptor or anything?

sent from Spartaknight
__________________

nheppeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 10:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,427
Default Re: Use laptop as second screen?

Only if your laptop has a video input. Otherwise, no. I've looked into doing what you want, and the only thing I've found is that it's only really available if you have a video input.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 99
Default Re: Use laptop as second screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Only if your laptop has a video input. Otherwise, no. I've looked into doing what you want, and the only thing I've found is that it's only really available if you have a video input.
Damn well thanks anyway man... I know the Alienwares used to have video input. I almost bough one but I wasn't a fan of the cpu and gpu not being upgradeable. Idk why they saudered to their boards... I ready a lot of forums where people weren't very happy with that.

sent from Spartaknight
nheppeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 10:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,427
Default Re: Use laptop as second screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nheppeard View Post
Damn well thanks anyway man... I know the Alienwares used to have video input. I almost bough one but I wasn't a fan of the cpu and gpu not being upgradeable. Idk why they saudered to their boards... I ready a lot of forums where people weren't very happy with that.

sent from Spartaknight
I haven't seen any of the Alienwares that had the GPU/CPU soldered onto the board.

That said, Alienware is overpriced. I prefer MSI and Asus; I know there's one PP has mentioned on here before that allows for upgrades more easily as well, but can't remember the name of the company.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 10:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 99
Default Re: Use laptop as second screen?

Well I'm gonna say that msi, Alienware, Asus, and origin are the main gaming high performance pcs. I mean I know there's sager, clevo and what not but out of all those I found origins new laptop was pretty much all upgradeable and has the desktop processor capabilities so I went with it. I haven't been let down. Getting pretty great fps in ultra settings... I'm actually kinda mad I didn't switch to pc sooner lol.

sent from Spartaknight
nheppeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 12:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: Use laptop as second screen?

I've never messed with ASI, but Asus is definitely good. Well, now they are. I remember their first few waves of laptops... ugh... gray screen with large red letters in all caps that read "ERROR" as soon as you booted it up fresh out of the box. I saw close to a 30% failure rate out of the box on those. Glad they got that straightened out.
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 12:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,427
Default Re: Use laptop as second screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
I've never messed with ASI, but Asus is definitely good. Well, now they are. I remember their first few waves of laptops... ugh... gray screen with large red letters in all caps that read "ERROR" as soon as you booted it up fresh out of the box. I saw close to a 30% failure rate out of the box on those. Glad they got that straightened out.
MSI is fantastic from the 2 MSI gaming laptops I've owned. Fantastic cooling is the biggest bonus.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 08:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cb600fshornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 361
Default Re: Use laptop as second screen?

I had a guy come into the computer shop I used to work in with an MSI laptop complaining of blue-screens and it turned out to be a stick of RAM, we removed it (so he only had 24GB left) and the laptop ran fine. 6 months later he came back with a near identical problem, sure enough, another stick of RAM had failed, we again simply removed it and the guy was left with 16GB RAM.

Not sure if this was caused by the user overclocking or something, or bad RAM though really.
cb600fshornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 08:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,427
Default Re: Use laptop as second screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cb600fshornet View Post
I had a guy come into the computer shop I used to work in with an MSI laptop complaining of blue-screens and it turned out to be a stick of RAM, we removed it (so he only had 24GB left) and the laptop ran fine. 6 months later he came back with a near identical problem, sure enough, another stick of RAM had failed, we again simply removed it and the guy was left with 16GB RAM.

Not sure if this was caused by the user overclocking or something, or bad RAM though really.
Probably just bad RAM - it's one of the most common failure points IMO. Never had any issues with either MSI I've owned.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob Question - Laptop as Second Screen? periphrastik Laptops and Notebooks 3 03-04-2009 08:34 PM
Going to black screen for a second? Normal? Kbecker Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-14-2006 06:41 PM
Second HDD, Second OS Greg New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-12-2005 03:43 PM
No image in second screen Aleksander Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 01-04-2005 02:34 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.