Screenshot tip. Does anyone know of this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software > Tips, Tricks & Tutorials
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2003, 10:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default Screenshot tip. Does anyone know of this?

Something I learned ages ago in Windows 3.1, is a method that's been biult in Windows since the beginning. Just tap the "Print Screen" (sometimes things like "Prnt Scrn" and such) and it puts a screenshot of your current screen in the clipboard, where you can paste it an mspaint or something.

When I used it back in the days of 3.1 , the more computer knowledgable people seemed to know it, yet as Windows grew and more and more people used computers, it seems to have been forgotten. I know very few who use it. Maybe I'm wrong, maybe this is something that everyone in this type of forum knows. If so, I appologize, and maybe a mod will remove this.
__________________

__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 01:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

You're right.. it seems to me that a lot of people have forgotten about this one. I've been using it since 3.1 as well - it pretty much eliminates the need for a 3rd party screen capture program.
__________________

__________________
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 01:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146
Default

Yes I still use it because it does not need any program to be loaded to take screen captures ...and the quality is as good...but it has alot of limitations though
__________________
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 07:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

Limitations? You mean those third party programs have other features? I mean, what kind of bells and whistles are there for a screenshot...the best to do is just use something like Photoshop to edit the pics. Hmm, an idea would be a type of screenmovie program that takes movies of pictures...that would be neat.
__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 11:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146
Default

Well you hit the right cord pal...there are screenshot programs to capture live video..like while playing games you can record what you are playing realtime...

Limitations...well other programs allow you to take screenshot of MDIs...like sub-windows..part of the window....desktop even if there is another application open or somethin' like that....selected area screenshots etc etc...you see there are a host of other options too..
__________________
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Old 04-03-2003, 09:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default

printkey.exe

i use this gr8 thing called printkey

printkey

recommended
__________________
gumba is offline  
Old 04-19-2003, 07:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gumba
printkey.exe

i use this gr8 thing called printkey

printkey

recommended

No offence, but in my opinion it's not worth the money. You can just use the 'Print Screen' key anyway, and paste it in an image editing program for the same benifits. I'd rather buy a good image editor and use it for screenshots AND other images and take free screenshots and use them with it when I need to.
__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 04-24-2003, 10:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Default

The ability to add extra information to a screenshot is sometimes very useful.

For this I use SnagIt by TechSmith... Very useful when you want more than just a screen dump.

Regards

Marc
www.updatexp.com
__________________
updatexp is offline  
Old 04-25-2003, 11:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

did u also nkow that if you push ctrl+prnt scrn you can screenshot just the open window? pretty cool eh? we use it in school all the time to prove that we are doing our assignments (im in an os class, so we go kinda deep in to windows 2k)
__________________
dethangel is offline  
Old 04-26-2003, 01:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19
Default

Print Screen is ok, but I like ScreenHunter 4.0 - it's a free download from download.com. You can print portions of the screen and save in different formats. Plus, I'm lazy and can't be bothered going to the trouble of having to edit the image I want captured in a third-party imaging program. Still, each to their own.
__________________

__________________
Terry is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.