PS3 not generating 1080p - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > Sony Playstation
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2008, 03:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default PS3 not generating 1080p

Hi Everyone ~

I'm totally new here. I belong to another Tech Forum that usually takes days B4 U get an answer 2 U'r Q so I decided 2 C if maybe someone here could help me out. I haven't even setup my Profile yet but I'll tell you I'm in Ct. near New Haven and I know a lot more about DSL & Computers Repair than I do about PS3 & Gaming. Actually I know nothing about PS3's & Gaming ..

I'd like 2 tell U the Prob I'm having & hope someone can help me out .. here it is
_____________________________________
I own a 72" Toshiba DLP model 72MX195 (2005 edition). It has HDMI 1 & 2 [In]
My Scientific Atlantic DVR goes into HDMI 1.
I also have the Onkyo HT-S780 Home Theatre Surround Sound System. Which isn't HDMI capable, however does support Optical. And I just purchased the Sony PS3 with Blu-ray (HDMI) capable.

So there you have my system. Now my issue is, according to the Toshiba HDTV docs, this set should produce 1080p
and the PS3 should produce generate 1080p but for some reason I'm not getting it no matter what I do.

I just came back from Radio Shack where I bought a 2gig HDMI cable rated to give 1080p+ whatever that means but
the Dude said this is all I need to solve my dilemma because all my TV will give me right now is either 1080i or 720p

Until I can solve this problem, I've got my TV set to 720p (progressive) which is better than 1080i (interlaced)

BUT why can't I get 1080p from these systems? Can anyone tell me what's going on with these companies that make it so hard to just kick back and enjoy? I don't think the HDMI cable is the problem.

I want & should get 1080p but I'm out of ideas .. Toshiba is saying it's the PS3 and Sony is saying it's the Toshiba .. not to mention I can't get surround sound from my HDMI because my Audio is coming from a Unit that doesn't support HDMI.

I read the Thread about HDMI Cables with the PS3 and everyone here seems to suggest HDMI is HDMI regardless,
so I guess I'll just go and get my money back.

Thanks People and Glad 2 B Here ..
__________________

__________________
RadioGuy is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: PS3 not generating 1080p

Well if you are using HDMI, and the PS3 is set to output 1080p in it's display settings ... then it's your TV.
__________________

__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: PS3 not generating 1080p

have you tried to hook up your ps3 to another tv to see if it will output 1080p there?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 05:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: PS3 not generating 1080p

No I haven't actually. The only other HD we have is a 19" in our bathroom of all places ... my wife likes to watch tv while she's getting ready for work in the morning. Ok I'll do that but I'll have to check 2C if that tv has HDMI capability ..
__________________
RadioGuy is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 05:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Re: PS3 not generating 1080p

Hmm thats weird.. My TV works fine at 1080p, thats a weird problem

so when you Manually select 1080p it goes to 720p anyway ?, if so Like aaronkupen said theres something wrong with your TV Settings or something
__________________
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 08:47 PM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,988
Default Re: PS3 not generating 1080p

Are checking the boxes of both 720p and 1080p?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 05:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 43
Default Re: PS3 not generating 1080p

Honestly it sounds like your TV is not upscaling properlly. In my research I found that it is set for 1080i with the ability to upscale to 1080p. The quickest way to find out would be to bring your PS3 to a friends house or something and hook it up to a 1080p TV and make sure it's outputting properlly. But honestly my money would be on the TV not upscalling properlly.
__________________
_____________________________________________

Gaming Rig:
Intel Quad Core Q9650 @ 3.33 - Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - 4gb GSkill PC2-6400 DDR2-800 - XFX Radeon HD 4890 1GB 900MHZ - Creative SB X-FI Xtreme Audio 7.1 - OCZ Stealthxstream 700W - Western Digital Black 1TB + 500gb HDDs - Cooler Master 690 II - LG 22" WS 2ms + LG 17" 8ms - Win 7 64-bit Home
http://www.stagecraftonline.com
Karlos is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 01:53 AM   #8 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,988
Default Re: PS3 not generating 1080p

Problem is most households don't have a 1080p TV. It could be just that the TV isn't capable of anything over 720p.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help! Games lose response to controllers, force to quit game but resets the PS3 Wildside Sony Playstation 0 11-26-2008 02:17 AM
PS3 Firmware v2.52 Released Osiris Sony Playstation 2 11-06-2008 11:48 AM
Another PS3 or 360 thread... Millenniumtiger General Gaming 10 09-27-2008 11:30 PM
Help connecting PS3 to PC please :) Callme Sony Playstation 9 07-23-2008 02:45 AM
80GB PS3 Gets Price Cut, Loses Backwards Compatibility Osiris Sony Playstation 3 07-17-2008 01:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.