Xbox 360 networking question -Do I have to use a name brand microsoft wireless device - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > Microsoft XBox
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2007, 11:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
LightingBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to LightingBird Send a message via MSN to LightingBird Send a message via Yahoo to LightingBird
Question Xbox 360 networking question -Do I have to use a name brand microsoft wireless device

I'm on the verge of buying a system and debating between these two devices.

Linksys Wireless-G USB Network Adapter with Speedbooster :
Amazon.com: Linksys Wireless-G USB Network Adapter with Speedbooster (WUSB54GS): Electronics

Or the name brand...

Microsoft Wireless Network Adapter Xbox 360:
Microsoft Wireless Network Adapter Xbox 360 - Wal-Mart

Been to the xbox 360 forum and they seem to be completely clueless. A friend of mine uses another linksys device and it works fine. Some of the people over at teh xbox forum think that it will not work due to a driver issue which doesn't make much sense to me. Basically, the microsoft device costs $100 and the other only $15 so I'm trying to make a logical better buy.

Anyone able to clear this up for me with no assumptions... please?
__________________

__________________
LightingBird is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 108
Default Re: Xbox 360 networking question -Do I have to use a name brand microsoft wireless de

Alright...Heres the lay down, I just faced this same problem like two weeks ago:

If you don't want to buy the Microsoft network adapter for a whopping $100, then unfortunately there is only one other work-around that I've found so far. You need a wireless access point. A USB adapter won't work for some reason, I tried it out with one I had and could not get it to work at all. So I opted for the access point. I picked up a Linksys Wireless-G Game adapter that said it would work for Xbox, and ps2 for about $20 on craigslist. The nice thing about this device is that it immediately began to get signal, and show that it got signal in Xbox 360 panel. Unfortunately it wasn't able to pick up an IP address. To fix that, I simply entered in a static IP, a static DNS, and Gateway. Then I used the supplied CD to access the adapter's firmware, and set the default wireless connection to the one that's in my house. Everything works great! Better yet, I saved $80 that I used towards some new games!
__________________

__________________
Current Build (Hope to finish by late spring):
Intel Q6600 g0
Asus Maximus Formula
geIL Evo 2GB (2x1gb) DDR2
ATI HD3870 X2 or Nvidia 9800 X2?
2x 150gb RaptorX (Have it)
Thermaltake Toughpower 750w PSU (Have it)
ZeroTHERM BTF90
Antec P182 Case
HP w2207 22" Monitor (Have it)
bmitchell73 is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 01:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
LightingBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to LightingBird Send a message via MSN to LightingBird Send a message via Yahoo to LightingBird
Default Re: Xbox 360 networking question -Do I have to use a name brand microsoft wireless de

Hmm like I said my friend uses a linkskys one and it works fine so I'm a little lost.
__________________
LightingBird is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 108
Default Re: Xbox 360 networking question -Do I have to use a name brand microsoft wireless de

Ok, theres a difference between the usb adapter that you gave a link for, and a network adapter like the Linksys Wireless-G game adapter that uses a lan cable to hook to the xbox. To my knowledge, you CAN'T use usb unless it's the microsoft one. So your only option is an adapter that uses the lan connection to your Xbox, like the game adapter. Thats probably what your friend has.
__________________
Current Build (Hope to finish by late spring):
Intel Q6600 g0
Asus Maximus Formula
geIL Evo 2GB (2x1gb) DDR2
ATI HD3870 X2 or Nvidia 9800 X2?
2x 150gb RaptorX (Have it)
Thermaltake Toughpower 750w PSU (Have it)
ZeroTHERM BTF90
Antec P182 Case
HP w2207 22" Monitor (Have it)
bmitchell73 is offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 07:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Xbox 360 networking question -Do I have to use a name brand microsoft wireless de

I had this same problem I didn't want to spend $100 on the Microsoft one so I use this usb adapter.
Amazon.com: Linksys USB100TX EtherFast 10/100 USB Network Adapter: Electronics

Basically what I do is hook up the Ethernet to the xbox then usb to my pc, then I just bridge the network connections and run off of wireless from my computer works great. But the only USB device that works for xbox is there own kind of sucks but there are many alternatives.
__________________
sl1pkn0t is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My monitor with the xbox 360 dwaynesox Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 10-16-2007 10:32 PM
Networking one wireless and one wired computer atvrdan Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 10-04-2007 04:29 PM
Anyone interested in Xbox 360 w/ Halo 3 bmitchell73 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 7 09-30-2007 11:58 PM
Wireless Networking Strength Nihsnek Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 13 06-21-2007 06:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.