Using Flash Drive as memory unit for 360 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > Microsoft XBox
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2007, 11:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 44
Default Using Flash Drive as memory unit for 360

A memoery Unit or a Harddrive for my xbox is to expensive for me to buy. So i got the idea that I could use a Flash Drive, like a 156MB one, or a 1 gig one. But how do I make it compatible with my xbox 360? if there is a way that is?
__________________

__________________
-Filya Baranov
Filya_Baranov is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Using Flash Drive as memory unit for 360

Does not work.
__________________

__________________
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 01:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Using Flash Drive as memory unit for 360

look around ebay for a hard drive you can find them pretty cheap
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 02:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Using Flash Drive as memory unit for 360

Doesn't work unlike the ps3 which will allow you to connect virtually any usb device to it

PS3 FTW!!!
__________________
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 03:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Using Flash Drive as memory unit for 360

why would it matter if the ps3 can use usb devices???
you cant NOT buy a ps3 with a hard drive so why would you need a usb device to store data

PS3 FTL!!!!!
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,243
Default Re: Using Flash Drive as memory unit for 360

Every time I run across a TheEnd post my *** clinches, I cringe and I think we all die just a little inside. Anyhow, some USB flash drives DO work, depending on what you want t odo with it. Like music and what not, they had an article out long ago about this, anyhow... not all are supported. Now, attaching one to use for games that require HDD, nope. Won't work, not even the PS3 would allow that although I'm surprised they don't considering that using an external device for swap and pointer files would bog the frames down, just what the PS3 needs... another bottle neck.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 02:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Silverlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 157
Default Re: Using Flash Drive as memory unit for 360

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEnd187 View Post
Doesn't work unlike the ps3 which will allow you to connect virtually ay usb device to it

PS3 FTW!!!
Warning reading this users posts can be damaging to your health
__________________
Have I been helpful? Consider giving me a Kudos

Silverlord is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 04:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Using Flash Drive as memory unit for 360

XMB>Dashboard

PS3FTW!!!
\/b\/\/a|<S FTL
/\
__________________
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Using Flash Drive as memory unit for 360

^thats gotta be one of the gayest posts ive ever seen
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 05:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Using Flash Drive as memory unit for 360

Quote:
Originally Posted by fade2black2004 View Post
^thats gotta be one of the gayest posts ive ever seen
not as gay as the flame war you are trying to start
__________________

__________________
TheEnd187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 03:33 PM
USB Flash Memory Drive Insectduel Microsoft Windows and Software 6 06-19-2007 01:44 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 12:37 PM
Why does a USB extension cable causes occasional flash drive write error? piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-07-2007 12:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.