HELP! System Link through home network - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > Microsoft XBox
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2004, 04:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Question HELP! System Link through home network

I would appreciate it if anyone could help me out with this problem. Here is the set up. I have a DSL connection with a 2wire modem, but the people at SBC say it is also a router. The main computer is hooked up to it via ethernet, my computer is hooked up wirelessly. Now I have an xbox hooked up to my computer and I can go on Xbox Live with this setup. Now what I am trying to do is hook an xbox straight up to the 2wire modem/router thingy and just do a straight system link, not involving xbox live. I've tried many different things with Rainbow 6 3 black arrow and no luck at all. If anyone can help me out or tell me it is impossible that would be great. Thank everybody and have a great day!
__________________

__________________
zappid is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

I could be mistaken, but I think to even do a system link you have to have XBL.
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 08:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default

I can do a system link right now by just connecting two xboxes together by their nics... but i do have xbox live right now, if that helps at all. I can play people online, but I can't play with other xboxes in my house. Thanks for the reply.
__________________
zappid is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 12:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
Lightbulb System Link Through Home Network

Hi Zappid.

You both are technically correct. The DSL device is a modem and a simplified router. Think of it as a gateway device. It cannot be used in the strictest sense of a network switch. You cannot use it to provide a switched internal network for connecting two xboxes. I also have a DSL provider(verizon) and have my house set up the way you wish. Here is how to do it.

Purchase a Linksys Cablemodem/DSL router. Link Here: http://www.linksys.com/products/prod...id=29&prid=604
This unit will also provide 8 switched ports to hook computers/xboxes to.

Disconnect your existing wiring and hook up as follows. Connect the
DSL modem to the WAN port on the Linksys device. Run a cable to each computer/xbox and connect to any open switch port on the linksys device. With this unit you will be able to connect 8 devices.

To make this work you will need to do some software setup on the computers and the Linksys router. In all likelyhood SBC is running PPoE. They are dynamically assigning IP addresses. You will need your account name and password to set the router up correctly for this. Then you will need to designate an internal network numbering scheme and assign all computers with this scheme. This only needs to be done for the PCs. The xbox devices automatically configure themselves and will find each other over your new network automatically.

Hope this helps you!
__________________
cwpierce is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 12:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Also, you do not need XBL for system link play.
__________________
cwpierce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.