can i use a normal crossover cable for a system link cable? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > Microsoft XBox
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2004, 03:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 14
Default can i use a normal crossover cable for a system link cable?

can i use a normal cross over cable to link 2 xboxes togehter. And iff not can u hire them at the video shop? and if not how much would they cost australian.?

THX
__________________

__________________
ccrraazzyy is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,243
Default

yes
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 12:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default

I tried to use a crossover cable to link up a couple Xboxs but it didn't work what did I do wrong?
__________________
B-rock is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 04:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default

not all cables will work. Ask somebody at radioshack they know.
__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 04:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 153
Send a message via AIM to OCC Fan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by B-rock
I tried to use a crossover cable to link up a couple Xboxs but it didn't work what did I do wrong?

thats the thing.... see crossover cable are used to DIRECTLY connect two devises, may it be two computers, xboxs whatever. if you want to connect more than 2, you have to use a router, switch, or hubb, and use cat5 cables. not crossover cables.
__________________
OCC Fan is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 06:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default

Ya Cat5 cables are supposed to work.
__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 01:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

you can get cat5, or ethernet, cheap at places like http://www.newegg.com, http://www.tigerdirect.com, or http://www.outpost.com if you catch them at the right time.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 07:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 153
Send a message via AIM to OCC Fan
Default

yea or just walmart... i hve a tiger direct outlet store like 5 min away from me and i love it... i visit every weekend, i love that place... and they only have like 5 actuall stores throughout the nation..
__________________
OCC Fan is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 12:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to BOOMINJEEP
Default

most of the time it doesnt work but some do from my experience.
__________________
BOOMINJEEP is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 07:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
Default

I made my own crossover cable and it worked fine, I guess it is that they only work some of the time. And make sure that it's not just a straight through that you think is a crossover.
__________________

__________________
CompyKid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.