Want to use 2nd router - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Security | Computer, Devices, Software and Systems > General Security Topics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2019, 08:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Santa Barbara
Posts: 2
Default Want to use 2nd router

Hello. I am living in a room of a house. I have an Ethernet cord running to the main router. I donít trust the security of the network. I know there is always a way in if a good hacker wants to get in but I still want an added layer of security.
I was thinking I can connect a second router in my room and have my own little mini network,.
Is this possible? Would it be effective? Would it make any difference at all?
If it is a useful idea then how would I configure it to get the most security possible?
__________________

__________________
ConfusedT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 09:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Great Lakes State
Posts: 3,415
Default Re: Want to use 2nd router

Yes you can do that, but if you get a third party firewall you can accomplish the same thing
__________________

__________________
Windows 10 .... It wants to be found and installed so it can be the one Operating System to rule us all.
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Santa Barbara
Posts: 2
Default Re: Want to use 2nd router

Basically it seems like a router is really what I need, the problem is that I have heard that the second router will have its own nat and so if I try to play Xbox live it will have double nat and wonít allow me to play. So, is there a way around this without sacrificing security? Or is there a device with a great firewall that will have lan and WiFi and wonít cause double nat? Or is the whole concept doomed because the nat is part of the security, which is the whole point, and I canít set up a secure second network without its own nat?
__________________
ConfusedT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 16
Default Re: Want to use 2nd router

I'm not that smart and I don't know how to explain the whole process but maybe this could be helpful https://vpnbase.com/blog/steps-to-se...g-two-routers/ or just try and look for some other guides on Google.
Cheers!
__________________
born-confused is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 11:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,965
Default Re: Want to use 2nd router

Yes two routers = double nat which means closed nat on your Xbox. The only way around that is by disabling the level 3 features (firewall, DHCP, etc) on the second router defeating the purpose of what you want to accomplish. Let me put it to you as bluntly as possible, if you're not doing what you're not supposed to do online you'll be ignored like the rest of us. If you are somebody of importance or you're poking your nose in the wrong place with the possibility to piss somebody off then a good solid firewall before your first router will always be a much better defense than any consumer junk router with a small ipsec.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
router, security

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding 2nd HDD to XP machine when 2nd drive already has Win7 on it dodge_aries System Upgrades 2 02-01-2012 03:00 PM
Can I use my iphone as a hotspot for my router to use twiztid_blunt Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 08-01-2011 02:19 AM
Do I need a router? Trying to add a 2nd computer. Org Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 10-20-2010 06:45 PM
No input on 2nd Monitor. Need a 2nd Card? freakstate Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-04-2006 07:09 PM
Addison Wesley Use Cases Requirements In Context 2nd Edition Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 03-09-2006 09:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.