Server Backup Solution

NOLACop

Baseband Member
Hello all,

I'm new to the forum. First let me give some background. I am a police officer in the New Orleans area. I am in charge of my departments, laptops, desktops, and server network. I have no formal computer training. I am one of those people who likes to know how things work and over the years I have taught myself how to work on and fix computers. I am the "IT" guy at my department even though I have no formal training (google is a big part of what I do). Whenever I have an actual computer guru working on something for me I pay attention and take notes. I have some knowledge now of basic networking things.

I currently have 4 servers. All Windows based (Server 2003 and 2008). On two of my servers I have external drives for storage of video files. I currently have 2 Lacie 6TB drives set to RAID 1 and a 4TB drive also RAID 1. These two servers run and save video and audio from our in car dash cameras and IP crime camera network. One server is my domain controller and DHCP. This server also contains all of the departments network shares as well as all crash reports. Each officer has a folder to store their documents such as warants, trip sheets, and whatever they need or want to store. The administration stores their statistics in a shared folder including stats for the FBI and other state nad federal agencies we are required to report crime stats to. The last server stores all criminal reports, including the report, statements, evidence forms, and anything that is printed on paper that is attached to the case file.

This is what I need: