How pinging works - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Security | Computer, Devices, Software and Systems > General Security Topics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2019, 02:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: AZ
Posts: 2
Default How pinging works

So I'm looking at a youtube video that mentioned traceroute or tracert and I tried it out on google. I'm trying to understand why does your ping have to go through a bunch of routers to get to google computer. Are they all google routers set up with firewalls or something? What are those routers there for and what dictates that my ping must go through them? Is it internet suppliers? Why can't I just go straight to the google computer?

I'm trying to see the big picture here. Sorry I'm very new to all this.

Thanks in advance,
__________________

__________________
Kiray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,191
Default Re: How pinging works

Hello fellow arizonan!

Simply put, to get straight to Google, you'd need a suuuuper long cable attached directly from your computer to a Google server. Which isn't feasible

All those hops you see are ISP's and the internet backbone routing your traffic to Google's server

With each hop it asks "do you (the router you're seeing) know this address?" and it keeps going down "I don't, but I know someone who might..." and it then refers you to the next hop until you find one that actually knows that address and connects you.
__________________

__________________

iFargle.com
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 128GB OnePlus 6 || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam: iFargle

"Because we are the pioneers. The star sailors. The thinkers. The visionaries. The doers.
And because we stand on the shoulders of giants, to go farther than humanity has ever been,
we will add our names to the roles of the greatest adventurers in history."
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: AZ
Posts: 2
Default Re: How pinging works

Thanks iFargle!

Honestly, that seems very trial and error. It only took me 10 ISP's to get to my destination. I know things go fast but with the massive number of computers out there, how did it not go to 100 or 1000 ISP's, if it's mostly guessing at where the Google server is? Are the routers that they visit along the way, are they servers that keep websites up? So, hosting company computers? I guess I could look at each individually to find that out.

Also, is it relative to how close you are to your destination? If I camped right outside Google building would I get there in 5 ISP's or 2?
__________________
Kiray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 03:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,191
Default Re: How pinging works

It's a set of rules
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Border_Gateway_Protocol
Less random, more math and rulesets

And yes and no to physical proximity.
Example:
When I lived in Texas, I had upgraded from a 300Mbit connection to a 1Gbit connection
the 300Mbit connection was routed through Austin,
the 1Gbit was routed through Houston.

it all depends on the network topology of your ISP and where their gateways are located.
here in Tucson, a tracert from my work location (in Tucson) to my house (in Tucson) jumps from my work site out to Maryland then back to Tucson. this is because my works gateway to the Internet is in Maryland.

However, if I was to do this same test from, say, my girlfriends house in Tucson, it would probably route through Los Angeles, because her ISP routes her connection through an exchange in LA.
__________________

iFargle.com
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 128GB OnePlus 6 || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam: iFargle

"Because we are the pioneers. The star sailors. The thinkers. The visionaries. The doers.
And because we stand on the shoulders of giants, to go farther than humanity has ever been,
we will add our names to the roles of the greatest adventurers in history."
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 03:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Casually Filthy
 
PopoChubbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Middle Earth
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: How pinging works

This is neat to read. Thanks guys.
__________________
PSN: Cash_Moneybeats - If you request me, let me know you're from the forums!


Currently Playing - Netflix, Hulu, and Skyrim
PopoChubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinging works then doesn't work , cannot ping outside the LAN longbillduck Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 10-02-2006 11:54 AM
Pinging problem satik Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 01-26-2006 01:30 AM
pinging google pinggoogle Overclocking and Modding 3 10-21-2005 10:18 PM
pinging sites rookie1010 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 04-29-2004 03:16 PM
PHP - pinging an address nemesis2004 Programming 9 04-16-2004 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.