What is needed to run a game server?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have had a lot of experience with this... I have seen providers come and go. I am not saying its going to be hard or easy or anything. I just know a majority of the people are going to go with a server company that advertise data centers rather then not. Former owner of FPSGS states "not smart, but possible" about hosting out of your basement. Which supports what I am saying. Your more likely to make money by going through a data center.

Well give me some information to back this up. I gave the ways on how you would profit from my way. So show me something that shows it's still worthwhile going your way.

Even if it's only $100/mouth per computer at a datacenter within 10 months that could buy you a pretty good computer but with doing that you're going to be buying that computer over and over. My way after the cost of the computer is paid off it's just the internet/electric bill.

And again, those people are for companies that are larger than what I'm aiming for.

farmer's market vs wal-mart. I'm wanting a small customer base. No use going with wal-mart if a small market can get me by.

Who do you plan to be your customer base? Go for it but your going to need more then a "few" customers to profit off a server. Going to need Demo servers since you don't have any reviews. And prove the customer why your WV basement server is better then the data center in Chicago and Denver and Dallas.. You will only be serving to East coast then (nobody in central US or Western US wants a server on the East Coast) which shrinks your customer base even more.

What happens to all the "potential" customers if you run out of room? Doesn't leave much room to grow easily.