What do u think about these Specs? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2004, 05:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

when do u plan to buy these parts??
amd is releasing some new processors in september, so if you could hold off till about october november u'll have 1 of 2 options=
1) all other amd processors, such as the amd64bit, prices will drop. or
2) you could get a better processor.

if u can wait of course and those specs are fine, but its just something to think about.
__________________

__________________
xotix is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 05:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xotix
when do u plan to buy these parts??
amd is releasing some new processors in september, so if you could hold off till about october november u'll have 1 of 2 options=
1) all other amd processors, such as the amd64bit, prices will drop. or
2) you could get a better processor.

if u can wait of course and those specs are fine, but its just something to think about.
Yeah, he has a point

What do you plan on using it for most? If its for gaming I would suggest maybe dropping the CPU down to a 3000+ and getting a better GFX card. The CPU has a rather small impact on FPS compared to a better video card..... Just a thought
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 06:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

its a good thought merlin.
__________________
xotix is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 06:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
ICS
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 229
Send a message via AIM to ICS
Default

x800 or the 9800 pro i recommend i have pwned them both
__________________
AMD 64-Bit 3000+ @ 2.4 skt939
1GB PDR Patriot PC4200 Ram @ DDR535 Dual Channel
*STOCK CPU FAN* + *STOCK VOCORE*
ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe
X2 Chaintech 6600GT SLI (550/1200)
WD Raptor EP (4.5ms seek)
NEC Dual Format DVD-RW +/-
Thermaltake Tsunami
OS: Windows XP Pro v.SP2
ICS is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 08:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to Kryptonite6965 Send a message via AIM to Kryptonite6965
Default

Thanks for the suggestions I'll look into all those as soon as I can. To answer the question of when am I going to buy it all I can say is sometime before Christmas.
__________________
Kryptonite6965 is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 08:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

hold off as long as you can, prices change for the better every week.
__________________
xotix is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 10:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to Kryptonite6965 Send a message via AIM to Kryptonite6965
Default

Hey,
Question whats wrong with the video card I have listed? cuz spec wise it looks just as good as the x800 and 9800pro to me.
__________________
Kryptonite6965 is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 10:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
Default

similar to my computer i bought in january. get at least 1536 MB ram. thats all that i can have on my mobo. it only has three slots. go my computer for around $4000 but after getting it fixed and a ram upgrade and new psu it was $5000. also be sure to get a power regulator for surge protection.
__________________
slayer1185 is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 10:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to Kryptonite6965 Send a message via AIM to Kryptonite6965
Default

Why do u say a 1536 Ram? I plan on upgrading it later, but not to more than a gig.
__________________
Kryptonite6965 is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 03:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to Kryptonite6965 Send a message via AIM to Kryptonite6965
Default

New Update. Hey if anybody knows where to get cheaper parts let me know. Currently I've been using:
Tigerdirect.com
Newegg.com
Ubid.com
Jazztechnology.biz
Turboled.com
ocsystem.com

That should be the final specs unless someone gives me more good adivce. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Kryptonite6965 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.