Warcraft III FPS Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2008, 01:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to adventk Send a message via MSN to adventk
Default Warcraft III FPS Problems

Hello everyone this is my second thread on this new laptop that my aunt just bought me:



Toshiba - Satellite Laptop with AMD Turion™ X2 Ultra Dual-Core Mobile Processor ZM-80 - Fusion - M305D-S4830


Its running windows vista 64-bit and when I play games like Warcraft III the fps isn't what I expected hovering from 40's to 50's. Why is it so low when I played on outdated desktops they reach 60+? My friend also owns an HP with a 8400M and is getting only 50's. Does this have to do something with Vista and older games?

If not then is there something I should know when it comes to gaming in vista(tweaks, adjustments, settings) because I've always been using Windows XP.

Edit: Also I have cleaned my system out by defraging and getting rid of useless programs. I have 4 gigs of ram so I think my laptop is overqualified for the game.
__________________

adventk is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 01:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Warcraft III FPS Problems

Right click the executable and select the Run as Admin option. See if that helps. Also have you got the latest patch for Warcraft?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 01:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to adventk Send a message via MSN to adventk
Default Re: Warcraft III FPS Problems

Yeah I got the latest patch but the administrator option seems interesting. Would you mind explaining this to me? I understand in XP some programs can't be ran without the admin's concent but can this effect FPS in Games? Also I am on the admin on my laptop, I'm the only user.

Thank you again!
adventk is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 04:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: Warcraft III FPS Problems

Don't forget that Wc3 tops out at like 64 fps... old game, but it has a place in my heart.
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 10:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Default Re: Warcraft III FPS Problems

make sure your system is in high performance battery (btw if you play dota whats your account name in the east?)
__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-11-2010 11:32 PM
Warcraft III key help hammer1200 PC Gaming 17 03-20-2008 09:24 AM
Strange FPS problems (Sega Rally Revo) Vaanish PC Gaming 5 02-18-2008 04:16 PM
Problems with frequent FPS drops in games babyshinsen General Gaming 12 09-24-2007 04:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.