Someone PLZ help me choose good parts for my gaming system. Im a 1st time builder

Status
Not open for further replies.

xxjuju4lifexx

Solid State Member
In the near future i plan on building a gaming system of my own. Ive never built a computer before and i have done endless reading on several different possibilities of parts to make the best system at a descent price. Below i will list my parts and hopefully SOMEONE can help me to make better decisions on my parts and give me some good advice on which parts to get. Basically i am asking for your reccomendation on good gaming parts for a gaming system. Good ram was especially hard to choose.

FUTURE SYSTEM:
Antec performance plus case w/ 430w psu
Asus a7n8xe-deluxe mobo
AMD athlon xp 3200+ "barton" 400fsb
Crucial 1gb (512mb x 2) ddr 400 pc3200 ram
ATI Radeon 9200 128 mb 8x agp
Western Digital Raptor 36.7gb 10,000 rpm
Sony Floppy Drive
Asus cd burner 52x32x52
NU technology dvd burner 8xdvdr+-
Windows xp home

THANKS FOR ANY ADVICE YOU MIGHT HAVE!!!

If you're building a gaming computer, get a better graphics card. Personally i wouldn't get anything less than a 9800 pro 128. If you can, get an ATI x800 series. Awesome graphics!

you're going fot the Raptor Hard drive so don't sell yourself short on video cards. :)

As for the RAM, I have never used Crucial, so i'm not going to be much help there. :)

The rest of the system looks good!

I would agree with hercules_upw. your video card should be more powerful unless you just play games occasionally. I'm impressed with your other choices especially the raptor ESATA hard disk. most people do not consider the hard disk being a bottleneck for the processor. you might want to but Corsair XMS extreme memory and get winXP pro instead though. I'm not too sure what kind of ram that crucial is either since you didn't tell us the model.