Portal Walking Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2010, 06:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Portal Walking Problem

I installed The Orange Box recently on my puter, had it on XP and worked fine now I have windows 7 and everything works fine except Portal, it plays good but I walk really really slow. I look around and jump at a normal speed but once I walk I go really slow, its not frame rate or anything it just feels to slow lol is there any way I can adjust my walking speed?
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: Portal Walking Problem

anyone have an idea? I tried reinstalling it which was a pointless lol... if its sumthin dumb call me dumb but tell me lol or if this is in the wrong spot could you tell me where to try?
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 06:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Portal Walking Problem

Start with the simple things first, is the game fully up to date and patched?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 06:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Portal Walking Problem

Is there a walk/run button you've accidentally pressed? That terrorised my mother in Oblivion
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 01:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Portal Walking Problem

I don't believe in portal there is.. You always walk slow. I did anyways.
overlord20 is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 11:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: Portal Walking Problem

idk... i guess maybe the PC and 360 version are diff cuz my friend has it on 360 and I am much slower than his... so maybe the PC version walks slower? lol think i need to put em side by side, i'll check the patches and stuff
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 05:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Portal Walking Problem

Steam should automatically patch outdated software. I do not walk slow in Portal. I walk Half Life 2 speed, which sometimes is annoying when you need to make those Portal flying leaps.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 06-23-2010, 08:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Portal Walking Problem

download autohotkey
use this script (in autohotkey.ini)
Code:
*PAUSE::Suspend
return

*SPACE::
Loop
{
GetKeyState,state,SPACE,P
if state = U
break

Send,{SPACE}
Sleep,10
}
return
Now you can repeatedly jump everywhere by just holding space
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having a strange problem NexDeus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-20-2009 01:20 PM
Problem installing software in windows xp pro imagesmith Microsoft Windows and Software 3 02-20-2008 02:46 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.