I5 7400 cpu problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2018, 06:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Croatia
Posts: 34
Lightbulb I5 7400 cpu problem

While playing some games I am experiencing some stutter and random lag, while the fps is ok around 120-90 in rainbow six siege and all of a sudden the my character in game just starts going forward and not responding to any commands. Now I have a gtx 1060 graphics card so I think its not that and the ram usage is also fine I have 12 gb ram.I would like to know if it is the processor and if there is some other way to check it because I am looking to upgrade it to a I7 7700k,also bf1 and 5 are one of the games that this happens in, my friend has an exact same processor and is also experiencing the same issue but I just want to know for sure if it is the processor.I recently bought a new motherboard, just want to note it if it helps in any way its and 270 prime a from asus
__________________

__________________
lukica555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2018, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,562
Default Re: I5 7400 cpu problem

Is this happening while only playing online?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 12:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Croatia
Posts: 34
Default Re: I5 7400 cpu problem

No, same thing happens offline
__________________
lukica555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 08:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,562
Default Re: I5 7400 cpu problem

Download an OSD program like MSI Afterburner to watch and log your CPU temps, GPU temps, GPU clock speed, CPU usage, GPU Usage, RAM usage, VRAM usage, and frametimes then come back with the results. Take a screenshot and/or send the log of when it happens.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 06:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Croatia
Posts: 34
Default Re: I5 7400 cpu problem

I did just a stress test on AIDA64 is that enough or do you want another one while gaming, by the way I was looking at the temps while playing the game and the cpu is always below 50, and the gpu below 60, so because of that I suspected it might be the processor that is holding back my graphics card. Also the ram usage is around 7-8 gb while playing most games.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg test1.jpg (105.3 KB, 3 views)
__________________
lukica555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 08:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,562
Default Re: I5 7400 cpu problem

No I need what I asked for because the results will indicate what the cause is during the lag spike. Your processor isn't holding back your GPU, as earlier this year I tested a 2500k with my pair of Titan Xps on a slew of games at 1080p and 4k. BF1 being one of the games and it ran fine. BF5 is fairly similar to BF1 so won't make much of a difference. If your FPS is that high and you're getting bad lag spikes it'll be somewhere else.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 11:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Croatia
Posts: 34
Default Re: I5 7400 cpu problem

Dont know if they updated the game recently or my pc has decided to work but I didn't experience much lags today will try again tomorrow on another map can't game much over the week but hope this helps. Also I would like to know your opinion on what to upgrade first on my rig right now
GPU-msi gtx 1060
CPU-I5 7400
RAM-4+8gb sticks 2400 MHz
Motherboard-asus prime 270-a
I am looking to upgrade my cpu because I think my gpu is still fine but I would like you to give me some opinions on it thanks in advance.
Attached Images
File Type: png bf11.PNG (38.1 KB, 2 views)
File Type: png bf12.PNG (39.5 KB, 1 views)
File Type: png bf13.PNG (48.6 KB, 1 views)
File Type: png bf14.PNG (33.9 KB, 1 views)
__________________
lukica555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 11:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Croatia
Posts: 34
Default Re: I5 7400 cpu problem

One more screen shot I forgot
Attached Images
File Type: png bf15.PNG (27.2 KB, 1 views)
__________________
lukica555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 02:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,562
Default Re: I5 7400 cpu problem

Something must be hitting your resources hard in the background. If you experienced a lag spike near the 3/4 mark of the graph there you can see that your higher FPS had lower CPU usage then it maxed when it lowered. Judging by your 8 out of 12GB RAM usage paired with 12GB of pagefile usage it looks like you have a ton of background tasks going.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 06:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Croatia
Posts: 34
Default Re: I5 7400 cpu problem

All I had in the background was discord, logitech gaming software and afterburner + rivian to record it. I dont have that much programs on my pc at all
__________________

__________________
lukica555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lag, stutter

« NVIDIA Drivers. | - »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual CPU or Single Faster CPU Private_Shon New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-21-2005 09:37 AM
No Cpu Fan/heatsink Voltage Out Of The 3-pin Mb Connector?? Cpu Cooling Solution? Johnny916 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 05-26-2005 11:33 PM
Compaq armada 7400 Techdummy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 03-07-2004 01:07 PM
compaq armada 7400 P2-300MHz pn5754 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 11-03-2003 11:33 PM
compaq armada 7400 doesn't power off effendi Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 10-17-2003 03:04 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.