Half Life 2 Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2007, 05:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Send a message via ICQ to Michael_R. Send a message via AIM to Michael_R. Send a message via MSN to Michael_R.
Unhappy Half Life 2 Problem

Hey all,
I just installed HL2 on my new computer, on the old one it worked just fine, but now as I have an 64bit OS, I can´t start it anymore, already tried a second installtion, but the problem remains,
everytime I´m starting HL2 the Steam Launcher appears, and loads, but then nothing happens anymore.

Thx for help,
Michael
__________________

__________________
Michael_R. is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default

64bit os is your problem its rarely compatible with games, try running in compatibility mode
__________________

__________________
backup287 is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 01:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default

I read something about valve releasing a 64 bit version of HL2

http://techgage.com/article/half-lif...to_get_excited

But ya.. try backup's advice.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 04:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Send a message via ICQ to Michael_R. Send a message via AIM to Michael_R. Send a message via MSN to Michael_R.
Default

Friend of mine already played HL2 on x64 OS,
with no problems....
but where can I find a download of the x64 Version of HL2, can´t find it at all...
__________________
Michael_R. is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 07:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default

Read this.... it seems like a few people are having the same issue, and it looks like the latest steam update may have had something to do with it.

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...d.php?t=525973
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default

I'm having the same loading but then nothing else problem with steam , but i'm NOT on a 64 bit OS. And it was just working wednesday........
__________________

lastshot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.