GTA4 Tweak Guide: Easiest Way to Tweak GTA4 for PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2009, 09:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Talking GTA4 Tweak Guide: Easiest Way to Tweak GTA4 for PC

UPDATED!

First, make a text document, call it Commandline.txt. Save it in your GTA4 folder.

in the document, type in as follows:

-norestriction
-nomemrestrict
-availablevidmem "x"
-percentvidmem "x"


^^^these are must have.

ok so the first "x" for the -availablevidmem can be set how much ram you have. For me, i have 1GB VRAM total (HD 3870 x2, 2 x 512MB of VRAM), so i would need to type in -availablevidmem 2.0. If you have 512MB of VRAM, then -availablevidmem 1.0. The -nomemrestrict makes it so you can change how much memory from your VRAM to be and used but displays how high the availablevidmem is set to. As for the -percentvidmem, i just put 100 so i can use 100% of all of the VRAM, so type in like so: -percentvidmem 100.



i was able to show 1503MB and 2000MB just by changing availablemem from 3.0 to 4.0. I ran GTA4 at the lowest settings (Texture Quality and Render Quality were on High however) n i was getting lower performance then before. I presume that this game is not very Crossfire and SLI friendly.

FYI! You don't need to create a shortcut from the file LauncherGTAIV.exe to make these tweaks work.

Quote:
This next bit is to make it look more vibrant and less washed out. It really makes a difference. BTW BRIGHTNESS and CONTRAST are swapped. They labeled them wrong

Brightness (contrast): full
Contrast (Brightness): 1/3 full
Saturation: 3/4 full
found this too. The rest of the command lines are quoted here:

Quote:
Tools:
-benchmark: Runs the benchmark tool and immediately exits game.
-help: Display list of all command line options

Graphics:
-renderquality: Set the render quality of the game. (0-4)
-shadowdensity: Set the shadow density of the game. (0-16)
-texturequality: Set the texture quality of the game. (0-2)
-viewdistance: Set the view distance of the game (0-99)
-detailquality: Set the detail quality of the game. (0-99)
-novblank: Disable wait for vblank (No Vsync)
-norestriction: Do not limit graphics settings
-width: Set width of main render window (default is 800)
-height: Set height of main render window (default is 600)
-safemode: Run the graphics in the lowest setting possible
-frameLimit: Limit frame to interval of refresh rate
(ex If refreshrate is 60HZ –frameLimit 1 = Locks down to 60HZ)
-refreshrate: Set the refresh rate of main render window
– Warning - Monitor must support (ex. –refreshrate 60)
-fullscreen: Force fullscreen mode
-windowed: Force windowed mode
-availablevidmem: Set amount of physical Video Memory(ex. –availablevidmem 0.9)
-percentvidmem: Percentage of video memory to make available to GTA

Audio:
-fullspecaudio: Force high-end CPU audio footprint
-minspecaudio: Force low-end CPU audio footprint

System:
-noprecache: Disable precache of resources
-nomemrestrict: Disable memory restrictions
all this source comes from this thread on pages 1 and 2. U can read on for more info but 1 n 2 are most important:

GTA 4 Graphics tweak thread - Lets make this thing work FFS! - Page 2 - nV News Forums

This tweak requires a command line text document to work. It really does work. I dont know about AA though:



updated this pic!

EDIT:

oops, i should of made the title of this thread say "checked and worked!"
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,283
Default Re: check and worked! Easiest way to unlock restrictions in GTA4 for PC!

im not gonna toy until i find a proven performence increase in tweaks.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: check and worked! Easiest way to unlock restrictions in GTA4 for PC!

Seriously, I agree.. I need a performance jump!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,283
Default Re: check and worked! Easiest way to unlock restrictions in GTA4 for PC!

i just need sli support. hey rockstar make gta4 your new years resolution!!!
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: check and worked! Easiest way to unlock restrictions in GTA4 for PC!

ill wait till i get a quad to get this game.

you guys are freaking me out lol.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: check and worked! Easiest way to unlock restrictions in GTA4 for PC!

Ya this game, needs a Quad... I alt tab out of it.. and its 100% on both 4600+ cores
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,181
Default Re: check and worked! Easiest way to unlock restrictions in GTA4 for PC!

Wow, nice, thanks!
__________________
iFargle is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,283
Default Re: check and worked! Easiest way to unlock restrictions in GTA4 for PC!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Ya this game, needs a Quad... I alt tab out of it.. and its 100% on both 4600+ cores
il get a screenie of my task manager one second. gotta love duel monitors.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: check and worked! Easiest way to unlock restrictions in GTA4 for PC!

I hate your q6600 and GTS G92 SLI

But as far as I know, the game with Quad's and a high end 8800 card should run the game extremely well!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,283
Default Re: check and worked! Easiest way to unlock restrictions in GTA4 for PC!

my quad at 3.6ghz.


note the keyword is should play well. i can only go on medium settings this game has no sli support. so i get crap fps even on medium. would help if i had duel channel memory aswell. my bdays in 45 days i asked for soem case fans zip ties a new hdd and some nice green patriot vipers 4gb.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fallout 3 Tweak guide [t..o..m] PC Gaming 3 11-11-2008 06:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.