Graphics Card Upgrade. Any suggestions? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2004, 01:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default Graphics Card Upgrade. Any suggestions?

hi, I just got a new game and tried to play it, it appears I need a new graphics card to do so, if any1 has any suggestions on what type to get, please let me know, it would be appreciated, it dosent have to be the best card, just something that will allow me to play the game decently,

intel(r) celeron(tm) CPU 1300mhz, 1.30 GHz, 512 mb of ram

Thanks,
Scott
__________________

__________________
Cky13166 is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 01:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,282
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

What game is it that you are wanting to play? Nobody can help you if you don't tell us what you are wanting to play. For instance, Medal of Honor Allied Assault has way different requirements than Doom 3. What is the game?
__________________

__________________
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 02:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

sorry, there sports games like nba live 2005, tiger woods 2005, and nfsu2
__________________
Cky13166 is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 04:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,882
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

Well, we could start off with how much you'd like to spend.. that's usually a bigger factor.. So let's do it like this, you should get an ati 9600XT which is just under $200. Next would be the ati 9800Pro around $250 (which is what i'd get). Although if you really want to spend around $500 on a video card, like everyone would say, get the nvidia 6800 gt...

I think the 9800 pro would work good though, probably will push 30-35fps in nfsu2, I have a 9800xt and it does 35fps with ingame AA. Yea, spend the extra 50 and get that card, it's your best bet.. don't trust anyone else here, no one knows what they're talking about

ohh, and welcome to the forums
__________________
Demalii is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 10:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,282
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Look at his specs though, a 6800 would be a total waste of money given that his CPU would totally bottleneck it. I would suggest nothing more than a Radeon 9600XT, and even that would be overkill because of your low system specs. What you really need is a new mobo/CPU AND video card.

And trust me, not Demalii...I know more
__________________
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

DingDongDitch, why dont you just stick your **** in your fan blade on your computer?
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 02:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DingDongDitch
uprade to Harper's mom.
*Puts big rubber stamp to user's post*

[BANNED]

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 03:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

you dont need to spend anymore than 200.

i'd suggest a ati 9600 128mb. it'll run those games just fine and its cheap...under 130.

and for those that want a good video card...pci-express...

the x700 pro 256 is only $200...and it runs hl2, cs: source with all settings maxed, with no lag.

just thought i'd let yall know
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
rollincatera is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 07:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

thanks a lot guys, i really appreciate
__________________

__________________
Cky13166 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.