Games crashing an hour or so into the game, + another quesiton that may be off topic - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2006, 10:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Games crashing an hour or so into the game, + another quesiton that may be off topic

First off, my system specs are

GENERAL INFO
Windows XP Media Edition
298 GB Hard Drive
260 GB USB Hard Drive
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual
Core Processor 4600+
2.41 GHz
1.00 GB ram

VIDEO CARD
NViDIA GeForce 7600 GT
NViDIA GeForce 7600 GT

I dont know where to find my soundcard info, anything else you need please ask and tell me where to find it.

Ok, the first and most reacurring (sp) problem is that all the games im currently playing (Knights of the Old Republic, Republic Commando, Halo) crash an hour or so into the game. I have no idea why this is, as this is a brand new computer.

There is 0 spyware and 0 viruses according the spybot and panda (my virus program). I believe that my video card drivers are updated, although i am not 100% sure. I did it the other day, and it went through, so I can only assume its fully updated.

I did a disk defrag two nights ago.


The second problem, and this has been happening alot less since i had my video card drivers updated, is that the computer flashes a blue screen wtih a wall of text on it, and then reboots. I am nearly positive that it is not overheating, nor is there aton of dust in there.

The manufactuer (sp) of the PC is www.cyberpowerpc.com

Any help at all will be greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
thoto is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,484
Default

Actually, it sounds like overheating. Download Motherboard Monitor and keep it running it and checking your temps... especially right after your game crashes.
__________________

__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default

The monitor says it was 32 F after the last crash i had. I was in the middle of Halo when it happened.
__________________
thoto is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 05:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,484
Default

That would be 32 Celcius. And that's not hot at all.

Try opening up Task Manager and killing every process running under your user name. Don't touch any System process, and don't kill explorer.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 06:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default

no, i have it set to fahrenheit. Although i just switched over to Celsius, and it says 0, so i can only assume that its not working.
__________________
thoto is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Open up the nvidia control panel and look under tempeture monitoring.


What does it say when your NOT playing a game?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 06:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default

have you updated Direct X ?
__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

theres no way in **** your computer runs at 32 F
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 08:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default

When im not playing a game, it says 48 degrees.
__________________
thoto is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 09:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 133
Default

Unless Your CPU is Overclocked out the wazoo and is cooled with a continuous supply of liquid nitrogen there's no way your CPU can be running at 0 Celsius

EDIT: Or you could be living in Antarctica...
__________________

__________________
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/5540/tf20kbo2.jpg
eVGA nForce 680i
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 2.92GHz
eVGA 8800GTS
2 x 1GB Kingston DDR2 800 HyperX
2 x WD Caviar 250GB in RAID 0
Antec TP3 650W
Arctic Cooler 7 Pro
apdrummer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.