FF online

Status
Not open for further replies.

Invisible

MetalHead Techie
was wondering if anyone here plays and if so are there private servers like WoW with no monthly fee?
is the gameplay similar to WoW if not how different of an mmorpg is it?

We had a dude over the summer, a college intern, who was into one of the FF online. I don't remember which one, though. Cool dude, and the game sounded pretty cool, too.

I remember he had used some in-game skills to make so stuff, and had it up for sale in the game to make money for his character. Pretty neat.

I've been playing FF11 (online) for little over 3 years now. No there aren't any private servers as far as I know. SquareEnix was very thourough in the creation of Playonline and registration and such. Fee is 10 or 11$ US i believe.

FFXI is much more team oriented then WoW is. You use party's of 6 usually to level up in different areas. Also unlike wow you create 1 character and can have access to all the jobs, and can freely switch between them. That way you don't lose any of your accomplishments/missions/quests and such from character to character.
You can create new characters if you want mules to hold extra gear and such. its 1$ per extra character.
umm what else. Most of the quests are useless and a waste of time, except certain types. In place of quests theres several mission lines for the nations, and a mission line for each expansion and such. Some can take a logn time to finish, some not so long.
Its not a very solo oriented game. You can craft, much liek in wow. armor, food, medecines and such.
Theres also "Notorious Monsters' roaming around the world. Just liek superpowered unique monsters. Special drop chances.
Also you can have a main job and sub job. So say im a white mage, i can sub black mage, thus enablign me to cast white and black magic. Or warrior/ninja. you can be a dual weildign warrior with extra defensive abilities.