F.E.A.R. FPS Probs... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2010, 11:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default F.E.A.R. FPS Probs...

I just bought a FEAR bundle from Direct2Drive. For some reason I'm having SEVERE FPS problems, and my computer should kick these games' collective arses. Example: I can play Crysis on high (not maxed) settings, and I can play Far Cry 2 on all max and the computer will run satisfactorily. I cannot get anything above 20 FPS playing FEAR, even if I have all the settings on the lowest, and the game at those settings looks like a 3D version of some SNES game! Somethin' ain right. Any ideas? FYI, I'm not at my gaming computer now, but it is a triple core AMD and it has two SLI'd mid-high end graphics cards. The model of the cards escapes me right now, but it is a solid set-up, not great, but - as stated earlier - should play any of the FEAR games without hardly breathing hard. Any help would be appreciated.

TG
__________________

croSSeduP is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 04:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: F.E.A.R. FPS Probs...

have you updated it to latest patch?
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 02:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: F.E.A.R. FPS Probs...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
have you updated it to latest patch?
Mmm... No. Didn't know there were patches for this. Will do that, however, I found the answer I was looking for on another forum: This computer is a W7 machine and there are some other stuff you need to do to get games like this to run on W7 (BTW, I hate W7 and Vista. WhyTF did Microsoft fuss with the file system from XP? Grrrrr....). Go into Device Manager, Human Interface Devices, and disable EVERYTHING you don't need to run your computer, such as mouse and keyboard. Now, the game runs like it should. With all the settings maxed the thing never drops below about 40 fps. Perfect.

Just as a side note, the GPU's I'm running are two CrossFireX'd HD3870's.

Peace.
TG
croSSeduP is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: F.E.A.R. FPS Probs...

I just downloaded the latest patch for FEAR 1.08 and when I try to run it it says "FEAR not currently installed. Aborting application." After it downloaded onto to my downloads folder, I tried running it from there. No luck. I tried moving it to the folder that FEAR was installed to and tried to run it from there. Again, no luck. Help?

TG
croSSeduP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
more DVD probs (different PC) lancec2c30 Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 08-26-2006 01:44 AM
want to oc but having probs Tech-n-Training Overclocking and Modding 3 02-07-2006 05:23 PM
ad hoc probs dakta Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 01-14-2006 12:13 PM
new pc probs guy101 Overclocking and Modding 5 08-08-2004 04:59 AM
Probs from Ram??? bomt697 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 10-28-2003 09:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.