COD5 DX question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2008, 12:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default COD5 DX question

real quick, I installed a new mobo today. Well before I did I had the beta running on Vista and I never got this error that every one else got with DX9.

"This application has failed to start because d3dx9_37.dll was not found.
Re-installing the application may fix this problem."

I never installed DX9 on Vista, I have DX10. Well now I installed new mobo and I am on Vista again just like before and I am getting this error.

Any ideas why I didnt get it the first time but I am now getting it?

Do I need DX9? Can you run DX9 and DX10 together? How does the game know which one to run?
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 12:57 AM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: COD5 DX question

Download this and it should run: Download details: DirectX End-User Runtime
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 01:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: COD5 DX question

Thanks. However I was wondering if I really need DX9. It ran before on Vista as I stated. I wanted to have my other questions answered about DX9 before installing. Can you help me there?


Thanks bud
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 01:17 AM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: COD5 DX question

Yes installing that DirectX Runtime package won't affect your DX10 installation currently. Many people have the same problem you aren't alone.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 01:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tim
Sir Timothy
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chichester, England
Posts: 534
Default Re: COD5 DX question

Happened to me, i installed DX9 and now its fine
Tim is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 02:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: COD5 DX question

what is with M$ site downloads going so freaking slow lately? Ive had to download a few things from there the last few days and every one is SLOOOOOOOW!
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 02:15 PM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: COD5 DX question

They've been fine for me.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 04:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: COD5 DX question

you can get it from file hippo.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 05:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: COD5 DX question

I'm still confused though. Is that link I downloaded DX9 or just some sort of files that fix my issue? If it is DX9 how does a game that supports DX10 know which one to use?
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 05:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: COD5 DX question

Because it's programmed to use DX9.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COD WAW in 2 weeks Dauntae PC Gaming 8 10-27-2008 03:18 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-11-2007 11:59 PM
Question about Video Cards and Compiz Fusion aetherh4cker Linux and Open Source 4 07-19-2007 03:16 PM
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 12:18 AM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 05:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.