COD4 patch downgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2008, 10:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Talking COD4 patch downgrade

hey guys i got cod4 and it came with version 1.6 and my friend who also has it, had 1.0 so he upgraded to 1.6 so we could play together,but it was really slow and was kicking him from the program so he just reinstalled the game and now hes back to 1.0.

so i want to downgrade to 1.0 s we can play together.

is there anyway i can do this???


thanks
__________________

__________________
erkster is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 10:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: COD4 patch downgrade

I do not think there is any practical way to downgrade. Also, there is a major issue with running the older versions in that there will be almost no online games to pick from since most servers update to the newest version of the game when the patch is released.
__________________

__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 10:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: COD4 patch downgrade

Just tell him to install 1.6 and 1.7.

The patch does not have any issues with kicking, and it was probably a Punkbuster issue, which is usually easily fixable. You won't find hardly any servers on 1.0.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 10:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 122
Default Re: COD4 patch downgrade

um there are way way more servers in the 1.0 version also many more people.
and it wasn't just the kicking part,it took almost ten minutes for him to get into a game when it took me 30 seconds
__________________
erkster is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 10:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: COD4 patch downgrade

I haven't played CoD4 in a while and that completely skipped my mind. He is right, if you do not have an updated version of PunkBuster you will constantly get kicked from games.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 11:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: COD4 patch downgrade

If you want to have version 1.0 you would probably need to use his disc with your cd key.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 10:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: COD4 patch downgrade

ya there are a lot more players on v1.0... and i also have similar dilema, my clan is on v1.0, but my new server is set to v1.5... anyway i can downgrade it to v1.0 so we can use it
can anyone please help... (upgrading whole clan isnt an option either)
__________________
emerick229 is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 10:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: COD4 patch downgrade

Im sorry but there is no reason for people to game on 1.0, its more buggy and doesnt have the new maps.

Getting kicked from games is due to punkbuster, not patches.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 09:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default Re: COD4 patch downgrade

You mean people enjoy the horrible sniping registration on v1.0? o.0
__________________
Waphlez is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 10:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: COD4 patch downgrade

How can you seriously say more people game on 1.0? Show me some statistics or I won't believe it.
__________________

__________________
Druid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COD4 problem with patch 1.7 saikotdu PC Gaming 5 10-17-2008 10:55 AM
Apple DNS patch doesn't patch Mac clients Osiris Apple and Mac 1 08-04-2008 08:12 AM
COD4 1.7 Patch insane84722 PC Gaming 2 07-24-2008 05:34 PM
Clone Hard Drive? peterhuang913 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 03-03-2008 12:12 AM
COD4 Patch Installation Problems!! Rhym3z PC Gaming 0 02-27-2008 04:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.