Bioshock, Assassins Creed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2008, 12:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 135
Default Bioshock, Assassins Creed

Black friday at best buy is having a sale on bioshock, and assassins creed, $10 each. Im confident I can run bioshock, though im not sure if I could play assassins creed while achieving playable FPS in the city. My specs are in my sig, any info is appreciated, thanks.
__________________

__________________
[size=1]My new rig!
Case: Stock
Mobo: Lenovo 10117
CPU: AMD A8-5500
Hard Drive: 7200rpm 1TB, Have a new 256GB Sandisk Ultra Plus SSD.
Ram: Stock, single 4gb stick
PSU: Stock
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7560D (Built into mobo)
Sound Card: Stock (Built into mobo)
Eclipse7 is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 12:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Bioshock, Assassins Creed

You can definitely run Bioshock.

I think Assassin's Creed would be quite laggy though.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: Bioshock, Assassins Creed

Alrighty then, Ill just pick up bioshock in that case, thanks for the input crazed.
__________________
[size=1]My new rig!
Case: Stock
Mobo: Lenovo 10117
CPU: AMD A8-5500
Hard Drive: 7200rpm 1TB, Have a new 256GB Sandisk Ultra Plus SSD.
Ram: Stock, single 4gb stick
PSU: Stock
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7560D (Built into mobo)
Sound Card: Stock (Built into mobo)
Eclipse7 is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 10:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Bioshock, Assassins Creed

but for $10 Assassins creed isint bad. i would still get, and when you get a video card and a cpu that can handle it, you can play it.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 11:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Bioshock, Assassins Creed

Assassin's Creed is too repetitive, gets old fast regardless of what reviews say about it. My older bro bought, played it, beat it, never or hardly went back to it again. I tried it on the PS3 too, got after a while.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 12:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Bioshock, Assassins Creed

I thought Assassin's Creed was an excellent game. It's not really that repetitive. Sure, you have the same basic goals in mind each "level", but you have new abilities or weapons each time, so you can do it differently. I really like the fighting, it's quite fun.

Although I will say the ending is very abrupt and lame.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 12:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Bioshock, Assassins Creed

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
I thought Assassin's Creed was an excellent game. It's not really that repetitive. Sure, you have the same basic goals in mind each "level", but you have new abilities or weapons each time, so you can do it differently. I really like the fighting, it's quite fun.

Although I will say the ending is very abrupt and lame.
hmm idk, i played it was fun for a bit, but then realized how much of it was the same as far as goals. It just isnt the game for me, even though it is out for PC already.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 02:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 54
Default Re: Bioshock, Assassins Creed

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
I thought Assassin's Creed was an excellent game. It's not really that repetitive. Sure, you have the same basic goals in mind each "level", but you have new abilities or weapons each time, so you can do it differently. I really like the fighting, it's quite fun.

Although I will say the ending is very abrupt and lame.
I agree about the ending. However, I had countless hours of fun just picking fights. I love that game.
__________________
Valdeam is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 05:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Bioshock, Assassins Creed

Assassins Creed IS FUN if you actually follow the story line. But if you know nothing about the Knights Templar or anything of the sort. Then I would see why would not enjoy the game.

It takes a pretty powerful set up to run Assassins Creed with playable FPS. Also for everyone with crossfire. Assassin's Creed the original game with no patches will give you better FPS.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-29-2008, 10:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Bioshock, Assassins Creed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Assassins Creed IS FUN if you actually follow the story line. But if you know nothing about the Knights Templar or anything of the sort. Then I would see why would not enjoy the game.

It takes a pretty powerful set up to run Assassins Creed with playable FPS. Also for everyone with crossfire. Assassin's Creed the original game with no patches will give you better FPS.
without patches? Why disss the patches when they improve the game? I know, well from wikipedia, that one of the patches got rid of DX10.1.

i understand the Templars n stuff, but i just cant see me playing it for very long like i have with Left 4 Dead. I got Bioshock for $10, so that should keep me entertained more. Am i saying Assassin's Creed is a bad game? No, i is a thrill ride i see being played a few times but realize that there is not much content or effort to play the game and do exactly what u did the first time. I wish the game was bigger all together n then i would get the game.

Shadow of the Colossus is underrated but original and innovational, havent played that game in months im gonna have to start playing it again.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
logitech dual action gamepad and assassins creed Parasitic PC Gaming 1 09-10-2008 05:47 AM
Assassin's Creed System Requirements? akasixcon PC Gaming 23 04-25-2008 01:25 PM
Assassin's Creed - Disappointment? Sydzy Microsoft XBox 16 12-12-2007 10:48 PM
assassins creed? Peter.Cort PC Gaming 17 11-16-2007 07:12 AM
Assassin's Creed Sydzy Microsoft XBox 23 06-08-2007 08:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.