BFBC2 Beta update - Page 22 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2010, 11:44 PM   #211 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,462
Default Re: BFBC2 Beta update

Tried to play tonight. Once it updated I was able to get on easily. I am still having the same issues (rubberband effect, non-responsiveness).

At one point I ran up to a shack, stepped out, and fired my RPG at what I think was an APC. Right as it was about to impact, I find myself running back up to the shack, stepping out... and standing there frozen... and I remained standing there frozen until someone popped me about four times.

Or where I spawned on a squadmate up on a hill. We were taking some kind of mortar fire, but I was frozen. Each shell knocked me further down the hill, only to have me rubberband back up and do it again. Yes, I died there, too.

Or where I am moving my mouse enough to have my dude breakdancing... and I turn about 20 degrees.

Or I attempt to fire off a burst of bullets and nothing comes out of my gun.

Or I fire a complete clip into a guy at a distance of about 15 feet with about half making contact (got the "X"), only to have him turn and waste me with a single burst.

Now, I realize that my CPU is getting pretty old, but I have a decent GFX card and plenty of RAM. I also realize that this is still a beta. But, geez, this is fracking ridiculous!
__________________

__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 07:11 AM   #212 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: BFBC2 Beta update

Quote:
Tried to play tonight. Once it updated I was able to get on easily. I am still having the same issues (rubberband effect, non-responsiveness).

At one point I ran up to a shack, stepped out, and fired my RPG at what I think was an APC. Right as it was about to impact, I find myself running back up to the shack, stepping out... and standing there frozen... and I remained standing there frozen until someone popped me about four times.

Or where I spawned on a squadmate up on a hill. We were taking some kind of mortar fire, but I was frozen. Each shell knocked me further down the hill, only to have me rubberband back up and do it again. Yes, I died there, too.

Or where I am moving my mouse enough to have my dude breakdancing... and I turn about 20 degrees.

Or I attempt to fire off a burst of bullets and nothing comes out of my gun.

Or I fire a complete clip into a guy at a distance of about 15 feet with about half making contact (got the "X"), only to have him turn and waste me with a single burst.

Now, I realize that my CPU is getting pretty old, but I have a decent GFX card and plenty of RAM. I also realize that this is still a beta. But, geez, this is fracking ridiculous!
thats a bad connection my friend. This happens in every game when your connection is no longer communicating with the server/or at least not as much as it should. I have had this happen to me countless times on bad servers.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 09:17 AM   #213 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,462
Default Re: BFBC2 Beta update

Doesn't matter now as the beta is over. Once the game is out I will set up a list of good servers.

If anyone's clan sets up a server, let us all know about it. My clan has kicked the idea around, but there has been very little activity in the clan as a whole for a while now (waiting on a game to focus on).
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 09:32 AM   #214 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: BFBC2 Beta update

Trotter, i think you are just unfortunate.

After the recent patches the game performs much better for me, whereas before i would get variable FPS on medium settings - it's now smooth on high settings.

I never lag at all, no rubberbanding, and perfect hit registration. There has been well recognised rubber banding issues in the beta which hopefully will be fixed.

What was the ping of the servers you were trying to join, pretty low ?

The new clan i am helping to develop and form (Gamers Covenant, gamerscovenant.com) should have a server up hopefully, might struggle to pay for it though as we are only small at the moment and have no source of income (sponsors etc).
__________________
Oreo is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 09:42 AM   #215 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: BFBC2 Beta update

Oops, double post.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 10:12 AM   #216 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: BFBC2 Beta update

Yea, that sounds like connection issues. I don't seem to have much problem as long as I'm in a server with < 200 ping. L4D is unplayable with anything over about 125. It really just depends on the network code.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 12:06 PM   #217 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,462
Default Re: BFBC2 Beta update

I was jumping in servers showing 65 or less, but I didn't check it once I got in and started trying to play.

I know i like BF2's server selection screen a lot better than BFBC2's.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 12:13 PM   #218 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: BFBC2 Beta update

Yea, I think the server browser on this game is junk. Not only does it take forever for servers to show up, but the filters don't really work for me.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 12:24 PM   #219 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: BFBC2 Beta update

Yeah the server browser is complete crap...I really hope it isn't this slow in the final.
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 01:20 PM   #220 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: BFBC2 Beta update

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
Yea, I think the server browser on this game is junk. Not only does it take forever for servers to show up, but the filters don't really work for me.
They are non functional in the beta, in fact i seem to remember seeing somewhere that one of the EA guys said there wasn't even any code in the filters so they wouldn't work whatsoever.

Things like the server browser will be improved, i am sure. Remember you can't really compare the game fairly to something like BF2 which has had many many patches to sort things out and improve them.

Besides, DICE isn't exactley well known for making bug free games. Whilst there production quality in terms of good code is poor, the gameplay is always good i guess.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Office 2010 Beta Problems, Experiences, Resolutions, etc... Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 22 12-02-2009 04:54 PM
Windows 7 Public Beta Information KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 388 03-09-2009 08:06 AM
prep for HijackThis Log posting paulmars HijackThis Logs (finished) 38 02-03-2009 05:51 PM
General availability for the Windows 7 Beta to end KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1 01-24-2009 03:25 PM
Disappearing XNE Update Issues Explained Osiris Microsoft XBox 0 01-19-2009 08:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.