BF4 PC System Requirements - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2013, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Student & Lover of Games
 
XGC Forsakend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,412
Default BF4 PC System Requirements

So the FB fan page posted a picture of the system requirements.

I will type them out here:

MINIMUM:
OS
Windows Vista SP2 32-Bit (With k8971512 update)
Processor
AMD Athlon X2 2.8 Ghz
Inel core 2 Duo 2.4 Ghz
Memory
4 GB
Graphics card
AMD Radeon HD 3870
Nvidia GeForce 8800 GT
Graphics Memory
512 MB
Hard Drive
30 GB
___________________________________________

RECOMMENDED
OS
Windows 8 64 Bit
Processor
AMD Six-core CPU
Intel Quad-core CPU
Memory
8 GB
Graphics Card
AMD Radeon HD 7870
Nvidia GeForce GTX 660
Graphics Memory
3 GB
Hard Drive
30 GB
_________________________________

Thoughts and opinions?

Kinda curious if I will have to play in low settings for this...
__________________

__________________
XGC Forsakend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,540
Default Re: BF4 PC System Requirements

The settings you have BF3 at will be the settings you run BF4 at.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
danhodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 309
Send a message via Skype™ to danhodge
Default Re: BF4 PC System Requirements

I just mentioned this in another thread, good timing!
I am pretty confused about recommending 3GB of graphics memory. Crysis 3 recommended 1GB, Planetside 2 recommends 6870, which I think only goes up to 2GB, and I'm struggling to think of other demanding games than have recommended this.

I heard that high graphics memory requirements could be an indicator of the texture quality. Is there any truth in that?
__________________
danhodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,540
Default Re: BF4 PC System Requirements

Answered the first question in the other thread. High graphics memory requirements can be one of three things. Large textures, view distance, or texture storing for decompression on the GPU rather than the CPU. Much like what RAGE does and what I've been saying the consoles will most likely do.
I personally think in the case of BF4 it'll be for viewing distance since I think we'll see even larger maps and more destructible environments.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: BF4 PC System Requirements

Quote:
Originally Posted by PPMguire
since I think we'll see even larger maps and more destructible environments.
awesome...
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,540
Default Re: BF4 PC System Requirements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yevrag35 View Post
awesome...
Indeed. One of the things I thought was totally awesome in Bad Company 2 was that you could demolish everything. In BF3 there are things you can't destroy or move. I mean, if you want to base rape, do it proper. Blow everything sky high so they have no cover!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
danhodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 309
Send a message via Skype™ to danhodge
Default Re: BF4 PC System Requirements

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Indeed. One of the things I thought was totally awesome in Bad Company 2 was that you could demolish everything. In BF3 there are things you can't destroy or move. I mean, if you want to base rape, do it proper. Blow everything sky high so they have no cover!
I still stand by the fact that Bad Company 2 was a much better game than Battlefield 3. I enjoyed it so much more. I think it was the maps - as you said, more stuff to blow up, and they seemed better suited to the way the game played.

I don't see anything in Battlefield 3 that matches a game on Isla Innocentes with friends. Hopefully Battlefield 4 changes that
__________________
danhodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,540
Default Re: BF4 PC System Requirements

I'll never know, as I don't plan on buying the game. Won't waste my money on the new CoD by EA. Although, if they ever do a Humble Bundle in 2 years time I might wind up with 3 or 4 copies lol.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 07:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
lastplace09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: East Coast of USA
Posts: 1,544
Default

Thoughts and comments? Glad I'm spending 400 on a PS4 cause my PC can't run that game apparently.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Is this my signature?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sweet!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
lastplace09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 07:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,714
Default Re: BF4 PC System Requirements

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Indeed. One of the things I thought was totally awesome in Bad Company 2 was that you could demolish everything. In BF3 there are things you can't destroy or move. I mean, if you want to base rape, do it proper. Blow everything sky high so they have no cover!
That was one thing I was disappointed with in BF3 coming from BC2. Was fun putting enough C4 on a building's foundation to topple the whole thing down.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Google Pixel XL


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.