Battlefield 2 Startup Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2007, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default Battlefield 2 Startup Issue

I have successfully started BF2 only once after buying it, I have the latest patch (1.41) and drivers. My system is more then capable of running this game and yet it won't start. I'll get the Battlefield 2 banner across the screen, it'll disappear, the screen flickers black and nothing happens after that. I've followed several directions including deleting the video.con from the Profiles folder in myname/MyDocuments/Battlefield 2/Profiles and setting my refresh rate to 60, still it fails. My video card now is an eVGA 8800GTS 640MB, I have 2 GB of Corsair 1066fsb and a 2.4ghZ Intel Core 2 Duo. My computer rapes the game, but won't run it. Any more ideas guys?
__________________

__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 11:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,480
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Startup Issue

Background programs. BF2 does not like to share at all. Kill off what you can. I leave a few running (ObjectDock, WindowBlinds, Yahoo Widgets, antivirus).

Also, you may need to uninstall, clean the registry, and reinstall. Update to 1.41, then try to launch.
__________________

__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 05-17-2007, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Startup Issue

EA strikes yet another customer with problems lol
__________________
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 01:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Startup Issue

are you using a widescreen monitor? if you do then go to the hd in which bf2 is installed, my documents, bf2 and clean out that folder

and i had this problem a while back, if you have expansion packs then uninstall everything, install BF2, install the expansion packs then install the patch.
__________________
Nick is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 02:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Startup Issue

He did the folder thing mate^^^
__________________
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 03:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Startup Issue

oh yeah it pays to read the whole thread
__________________
Nick is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 03:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Startup Issue

Edit the shortcut target and put +fullscreen 0.

This will make it start in window mode, and you'll be able to see any errors it has.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 04:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Startup Issue

The exact error when I try to run it in a window says...

Debug assertion failed!
Version 1.1.2965-797.0
Module: RendDX9
File D:\Aphrodite\BF2_1.4\Code\BF2\RendDX9\VideoOptions .cpp
Line 234
Text : Unknown DynamicOption value 800x600@60hz

(This error was recieved when adding +fullscreen 0 to the shortcut target.)
__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 01:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Startup Issue

Answer is in your hands take that line out...
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 02:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
enigm@tic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 393
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Startup Issue

EA games always **** me with new problems all the time. Their online service is bad too.
__________________

__________________
enigm@tic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV Card issue AntonOle Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-17-2007 08:31 AM
remote desktop issue over internet hiren Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 05-08-2007 12:50 PM
Weird IE7 Issue reubix Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-02-2007 02:54 PM
A Corporate Networking Issue Notsoluckycharm6 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 04-18-2007 01:50 AM
Startup prgrams Mr. tech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 03-26-2007 12:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.