Battlefield 2 Patch 1.5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2009, 01:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 43
Default Battlefield 2 Patch 1.5

Its official, the new Battlefield 2 patch 1.5 came out this morning. See link below:

Battlefield Blog

Like me Im sure if you are a Battlefield 2 fan you will find this to be a long over due patch but there will be a lot of people playing it. A few key areas to highlight with the new patch:

- Support for Windows Vista
- Widescreen support
- Allows BF2.exe to utilize more than 2gb of ram
- Hitbox fixes (supposed to be more accurate)
- Changes to J10 and F35b to make them more balanced
- AA Tweaking
- You can prone past claymores
- New map called Operation Blue Pearl
- As well as the two booster packs Armored Fury, and Euro Force included

The patch is a large 2GB, and you need to have BF2 installed with Patch 1.41 installed already. - 1.5 installs over 1.41

My suggestion is to start downloading asap because with everyone downloading it is going to take awhile for the file to make its way through. I predict much of the community that was waiting for the BF 1943 PC release that got pushed back till 2010 will be dusting off there BF2 disk and playing again as we need something to hold us over until 1943, Bad Company 2 and BF3. All of which we can assume are delayed as they are all on the Frostbite engine which is having some apparent difficulties being ported over to PC for the first time.

* News on BF 1943 being held back: Battlefield 1943 for PC Release Date Pushed Back to Early 2010 | PC News

See you on the Battlefield!
__________________

__________________
_____________________________________________

Gaming Rig:
Intel Quad Core Q9650 @ 3.33 - Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - 4gb GSkill PC2-6400 DDR2-800 - XFX Radeon HD 4890 1GB 900MHZ - Creative SB X-FI Xtreme Audio 7.1 - OCZ Stealthxstream 700W - Western Digital Black 1TB + 500gb HDDs - Cooler Master 690 II - LG 22" WS 2ms + LG 17" 8ms - Win 7 64-bit Home
http://www.stagecraftonline.com
Karlos is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 03:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Patch 1.5

I liked the BF games, but their support is horrible. I mean, it's 2009 and they are just know adding official widescreen support.
__________________

__________________
Waphlez is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 04:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Patch 1.5

haha...I may actually start playing it again now! When was the game released...like 2003, 2004?
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 05:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Patch 1.5

I use to play this on xbox360. Pretty fun game. Now might be a good time to pick it up for PC. Cheap and a good patch possibly! Might start out on the new map to try and have a fighting chance out there! lol
__________________
Chad711 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Patch 1.5

Couldn't you get widescreen support before if you tweaked your game a little? I know you could do this in 2142. You had to dl something that some dude made. I wonder if that game has official widescreen support yet either. If I ever did go back to a bf game, it would definitely be 2142, hands down. I was never able to get near the same enjoyment from bf2 for some reason.

Now that bf1943 isn't coming out till next year, I'm not going to get it. It was going to be something to play until mw2. They lost a sale from me, and I'm sure they lost thousands more sales from people with the exact same reason as me. If they want to bring out a fraction of a game, it can't come out so soon after a triple A title like MW2.

Way to SUCK DICE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad711 View Post
I use to play this on xbox360. Pretty fun game. Now might be a good time to pick it up for PC.
I know what you are talking about. I don't think that that is the same thing.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 05:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Patch 1.5

Guess this game is retail only? Can't seem to find a download for it???
__________________
Chad711 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 06:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Patch 1.5

You can also download the patch here.

Patches and Fixes: Battlefield 2 v1.50 Patch - Demo Movie Patch Download Section - GamersHell.com

Gamershell doesn't support download managers and I usually use Firefox for large downloads

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad711 View Post
Guess this game is retail only? Can't seem to find a download for it???
Here's the Demo

Demo Versions: Battlefield 2 Demo - Demo Movie Patch Download Section - GamersHell.com
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 09:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Patch 1.5

I just bought it since it was only $10! I ran into some issues with the game last night. Nothing to bad, will make a new thread so I don't hijack this one.
__________________
Chad711 is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 08:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,405
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Patch 1.5

I am currently reinstalling BF2 because of the new patch. I have BF2 and Special Forces installed, but am having to DL 1.41 and install it before I install 1.5. I thought I had 1.41 burned on a disk but it is 1.4 instead. >.< I just have to remember to burn both 1.41 and 1.5 to disk later.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-06-2009, 08:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Battlefield 2 Patch 1.5

I installed 1.5 last night. I haven't played it yet. It's been about 6 months or so since I've fired up BF2. I'm gonna play for a bit today I think. I'm heading out to walmart in a bit to see if they have a decent mice.

Unfortunately, yet another Razer mouse has stopped working for me. This would make 4 out of 4. Awesome!
__________________

__________________
HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obituary: Harry Patch Kharn Off Topic Discussion 3 07-29-2009 09:23 PM
Battlefield 1943 Tim General Gaming 22 02-07-2009 09:01 PM
Rockstar reveals GTA4 patch details, ATI Catalyst 8.12 release Dec 10th Wildside PC Gaming 4 12-11-2008 02:32 PM
Apple DNS patch doesn't patch Mac clients Osiris Apple and Mac 1 08-04-2008 08:12 AM
Clone Hard Drive? peterhuang913 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 03-03-2008 12:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.