America's Army Sniper? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2007, 08:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 90
Default America's Army Sniper?

I did the advanced marksmanship training and passed with both sniper rifles, but I canít ever be a sniper in the game. Even if there is a slot open, it is greyed-out and I canít select it. One time last night the spot did light-up, but was filled 0.5 seconds later by someone else. Does it have to do with me being a new player?

I have another noob question about weapon load-outs. Only configuration #2 is different for me, this being the machine gun. 1, 3, 4, 5 are exactly the same, do they have to be unlocked somehow? Iíve qualified Airborne, SF etc but canít get any different weapons. What am I doing wrong?
__________________

__________________
Space_Coyote is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 09:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: America's Army Sniper?

The reason that it's greyed out is because there aren't enough people to fill the weapons slots. If the server is almost, or is, full, then you can bet all of the weapons slots will be open.


To change the weapon loadout:

- Go to the Record Brief Menu on the left of the screen
- There will be the following tabs at the top: News, Player Stats, Badges, M4AI Mods.
- Click on the M4AI Mods
- Change the weapon load out for the different slots (1-5)
*Please note: These changes will only occur if the game is in SF mode. If you are playing "regular weapons", the M16, AR, and Sniper are the only 3 guns you can get.

Hope this helps you. If you have any other questions just ask. My ingame name is {-RIP-}Moto, and I play like all Urban Assault.
__________________

__________________
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 10:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 90
Default Re: America's Army Sniper?

Thanks, Iíll give that a shot tonight. Itís funny that you mentioned Urban Assault, because I wanted to try that but couldnít find any servers listed. I ran into that problem on multiple maps, yet if you go to Bridge Crossing for example, there are so many it fills the screen.

Bridge is alright, but it gets old fast. I prefer something more spacious, and found a great map something-Basin that looks like Iraq or someplace.
__________________
Space_Coyote is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 01:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: America's Army Sniper?

River Basin.

Also, try The SMU Map Packs, like River Village. Thats an open and very fun map.

If you are ever on Urban, look for the RIP servers - very good ping and usually always full.
__________________
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 02:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: America's Army Sniper?

Hey, is America's Army able to be played on-line in multiplayer mode? If so how does it compare to Counter Strike Source and Battlefield 2???
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 06:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default Re: America's Army Sniper?

Shan, America's Army is soley online based. America's Army is a bit more tactical than Counter-Strike and much slower paced than BF2. If your an impatient player and don't like waiting once you've died for the round to be over, then it's not for you. That's the only thing people seem to dislike about it. Otherwise it's a great game, a lot of people play it. And best of all, its free!
__________________
Thresh is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 12:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: America's Army Sniper?

I think it's funny that the other team always looks like terrorists. It was a pretty fun game, though. Too bad they stopped porting the new versions to Linux.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Americas Army revenge2 PC Gaming 5 05-21-2007 07:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.