3440x1440 benchmarks? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2014, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
x51noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 160
Default 3440x1440 benchmarks?

Anyone know of GPU benchmarks at this resolution. I've been thinking about getting the lg 34um95 over the Asus pg278q but I'm curious how my 780ti will work with it. Even in sli is that 3gb frame buffer enough for most games at this resolution?
__________________

__________________
Using Tapatalk
x51noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,540
Default Re: 3440x1440 benchmarks?

Most games, yes, some games, no.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 04:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,278
Default Re: 3440x1440 benchmarks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by x51noob View Post
Even in sli is that 3gb frame buffer enough for most games at this resolution?
Its my understanding that many games, similarly to windows display options, look at certain hardware such as the display or graphics card to determine the list of accepted resolutions that are listed as options in the video settings of the game.

So if you get the setup you may be surprised at how many games allow that high of a resolution even though the option isn't displayed for you now.
__________________
iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 05:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,540
Default Re: 3440x1440 benchmarks?

Windows and games will show either the native (highest) resolution of the monitor or the highest resolution the game is natively capable of if the native resolution is too high.

He's simply asking if 3GB of VRAM in a 780ti SLI setup is enough to push a 1440p setup. Hence my simple answer.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 07:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: 3440x1440 benchmarks?

Some of the games I play like Watch Dogs exceed the 3GB limit when I play at 2560x1080
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 09:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
x51noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 160
Default Re: 3440x1440 benchmarks?

Yea I bought it. Single 780ti just fine no sli needed yet. Metro last light hovering within 5fps of 60 on very high settings with ssaa at 0.5
__________________
Using Tapatalk
x51noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 03:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,540
Default Re: 3440x1440 benchmarks?

You playing Redux or no? On redux 0.5 actually reduces quality for me.

Kman have you played it with the latest patches? Ultra everything with 2xMSAA doesn't even break 3GB for me.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 01:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
x51noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 160
Default Re: 3440x1440 benchmarks?

I got 2033 redux but it's really glitchy and constant crashes. I'm done til its patched. And on last light original I noticed the same with ssaa. Actually have it set to off which increases quality over .5
__________________
Using Tapatalk
x51noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 02:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,540
Default Re: 3440x1440 benchmarks?

Yea auto and off looks better than 0.5, but I have 0 issues with either Redux title.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2800+ amd athlon xp benchmarks cell567 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-19-2004 02:40 PM
Good Benchmarks but Lousy Game Performance? Chipa66 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-08-2004 01:58 AM
Bad Benchmarks Demalii Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 10-28-2003 09:28 PM
GeForce FX Benchmarks Ecniv Off Topic Discussion 2 01-29-2003 11:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.