Intel Intel Sandy Bridge-E Details Trickle Out - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > News > Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2011, 11:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Destroyer of headlines
 
Megatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Headlines
Posts: 629
Default Intel Sandy Bridge-E Details Trickle Out

Quote:
We'd like to tell you we donned our ninja suits, infiltrated Intel's facilities, and made off with a bunch of secrets all without getting caught, but none of that actually happened. Lucky for us, we didn't have to take things that far, because a Turkish website -- the same one that reported AMD's delayed Bulldozer launch -- is serving up details on a trio of upcoming Sandy Bridge-E processors.

First up is the Core i7 3960X. This will be a six-core chip clocked at 3.3GHz, and up to 3.9GHz via Turbo. This thing will pack a monstrous 15MB of cache, and expect an unlocked multiplier as it's an Extreme Edition part.

Sitting one rung lower is the Core i7 3930, also of the Extreme Edition variety. This is another six-core processor, but clocked slightly slower at 3.2GHz (Turbo 3.8GHz) and will a little less cache at 12MB. Both this and the 3960X have TDPs rated at 130W.

Finally there's the Core i7 3820, a regular quad-core processor with a locked multiplier and clocked at 3.6GHz (Turbo 3.9GHz). It will come with 10MB of cache and a 130W TDP.

Source
__________________

Megatron is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 12:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Intel Sandy Bridge-E Details Trickle Out

I find that quite hard to believe honestly.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-22-2011, 03:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Intel Sandy Bridge-E Details Trickle Out

If it's fishy or not it sounds good. The 2600 would have been my first choice if I were building, but only being 4 cores is a drawback to me. The 3960 would be amazing.
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-22-2011, 06:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Intel Sandy Bridge-E Details Trickle Out

If those specs are correct then I imagine either one of the six-core models will cost more than my entire rig :P
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-22-2011, 09:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Intel Sandy Bridge-E Details Trickle Out

Quote:
Originally Posted by yzmxer608 View Post
If it's fishy or not it sounds good. The 2600 would have been my first choice if I were building, but only being 4 cores is a drawback to me. The 3960 would be amazing.
These details are seriously disappointing considering how much win the 2600k is. 130w TDP? That is just insane considering Intel has been going DOWN. We where promised 8 core and quad channel on this platform and now it looks like all this wait and we get almost nothing new. I'm definitely going with a 2500/2600k this time.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-22-2011, 01:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Intel Sandy Bridge-E Details Trickle Out

Well in that case it is, I didn't know they were talking about doing an eight core. I did notice the 130 though, we just have to wait I guess.
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-22-2011, 06:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Intel Sandy Bridge-E Details Trickle Out

It, the article, all sounds to be about right if these are the new triple channel cpu's. The i5 750 & i7 870 are 95W cpu's and the i7 920 was a 130W cpu. The i5 2500 and the i7 2600 are 95W so it makes sense that the new triple channel cpu's would be 130W.

And Intel has always liked to pack in all the cache it can.

I'll be interested in seeing what the price point is going to be. I don't see any of these being a big seller unless they release a i7 3820K.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-22-2011, 06:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Intel Sandy Bridge-E Details Trickle Out

These are quad channel Pretty sure you meant to type that though.

Thing is, these are a die shrink from the previous gen. I guess they just said well since we are saving on power we can stuff more stupid cache.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-22-2011, 07:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Intel Sandy Bridge-E Details Trickle Out

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
These are quad channel Pretty sure you meant to type that though.
brain fart.

Wikipedia has this same info listed.
Sandy Bridge - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-22-2011, 07:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Intel Sandy Bridge-E Details Trickle Out

It says up to quad channel on their chart thingy. If it is in fact only triple channel nobody will want to buy it.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel overclocks Sandy Bridge to 4.9GHz on stock cooling Puddle Jumper New Technology and Products 17 10-04-2010 08:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.