Are we losing the plot with DLC?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think that DLC's are fantastic for games that are already quite expansive. For example, I thoroughly enjoyed all of the Fallout 3 DLCs, because they made sense and didn't take away from the original game.

The DLC for Fallout 3 is incredible, they add so much more to the game. You can run through the main story line pretty swiftly if you stuck to it, the side quests do add quite a bit, but DLC adds a ton more to it. It's totally worth picking up the GoTY edition. I'm exempting Fallout 3 DLC from my statement below.

I won't rant until I make myself angry, like Slaymate did haha. I feel like what's really made DLC more common and games getting released with a patch released for download the same day, are this generation of consoles and the spread of broadband. I'm going to guess the companies look at it this way (I have zero knowledge about the process, but this is what I think the big wigs who are out for profits are thinking)...

Finish game ASAP and put in as little as possible dev time so the game can go gold and it can hit the streets. Start working on a patch and have it ready the day the games released, the patch will be available to download to fix major bugs. Create levels/modes for DLC that add a bit more entertainment for $20-$30, even though the content should have been released with the game at no additional cost. Release and push digital sales of the DLC. Make moneys.

That guy has way too much money haha. Greed comes to mind when I see his name. Taken via Wikipedia-