Multicore/threaded games! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > General Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2005, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Something Sexy
Default Multicore/threaded games!

Not sure if this has been posted yet but there is a great article from geek.com about Havok releasing their physics engine to support multi cores and threads.

http://geek.com/news/geeknews/2005Ju...0715031381.htm

Quote:
posted 9:58am EST Fri Jul 15 2005 - submitted by Matthew

BLURB
Havok, the well-known physics middleware company, announced that it is developing new software technology to ease development with forthcoming multi-core and multi-threaded development platforms. The Havok HydraCore technology (PDF) aims to help developers distribute tasks in games using the Havok physics system over multiple cores or threads. The aim is to offer a single solution that allows for better development on multiple core AMD and Intel chips, as well as for the forthcoming PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 consoles. Developers will be given the control to assign computational threads using the software based on the hardware at their disposal. The system even supports single-threaded environments to ensure that the software can be used regardless of the platform you are working on, and, in the case of the PC, to ease legacy support for older systems. As I am sure I have said in the past, development for next-gen consoles is not going to be a walk in the park. Middleware is going to be key to pretty much all developers, and this is reflected in the amount of engine licenses being bought by large developers around the world. This offering from Havok was necessary to allow its physics system to be truly next-gen. Utilizing multiple cores and threads will allow developers to use more physics in their games, improve the effects and animations, and (hopefully) seamlessly port it to multiple platforms. Expect other middleware vendors to start touting multi-core and -thread features soon. Thanks to TotalVideoGames for the heads-up.
This is great news for the gaming industry.
__________________

Something Sexy is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

I also heard TES4 is going to utalize multi-core, processors.
__________________

__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Doesn't the Source engine recognize two processors? when I run it, it says in console and recognizes two figuratve cores on my P4 HT.

woot. 800th post!
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 11:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 316
Default

Hopefully this will speed up the development cycles.

Which I'm assuming will grow with the next-gen console because they will be some huge and complex.
__________________
BlazingWolf
<font color=\'red\'>
<b>
<a href=\'http://www.gaming-forums.org\'>
Gaming-Forums.org
<a/>
</b>
</font>
BlazingWolf is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 12:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by woot6600GT
Doesn't the Source engine recognize two processors? when I run it, it says in console and recognizes two figuratve cores on my P4 HT.

woot. 800th post!
Recognizes but does not use.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 01:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 316
Default

It can't 'use' it since it's not actually there.
__________________
BlazingWolf
<font color=\'red\'>
<b>
<a href=\'http://www.gaming-forums.org\'>
Gaming-Forums.org
<a/>
</b>
</font>
BlazingWolf is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 10:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

what do you mean it is not there?

HT tricks windows into thinking 2 cpu's are present. Making windows send 2 threads. HT acts like a traffic cop, stops 1 thread to let 1 thru a little bit, stops that thread to let the other one go..... and so on and so forth.

HT is logical, it maybe not be phyisical but it still can be utilized.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.